Outback Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
OMG!!! this soup is absolutely orgasmic....I am totally impressed.....I am very impatient so I kept tasting it before adding the cream and wasnt really loving it...but when you add the cream the flavors really blend in nicely and it is incredible. Keeping true to my cooking style I doubled the recipe, used twice the amount of onions. added 5 garlic cloves, a good bunch of cilantro and a couple of bay leaves. Many reviews I read say it doesnt need the long simmering time.. I added quite a few extra ingredients so the long cooking time really helped the flavours be released into a wonderful creamy broth. Very rich and luxurious. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe. It will definetly be a regular meal in my house from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.WeinnerBlowers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
Very Good soup! I also had problems with the onions breaking up, and the soup getting lumpy. To fix, I made a rue, melted 2tbs butter and whisked in 2tbs flour, let it cook for a few min and then added the cream. I gradually whisked that mixture into the soup. For the onions, I sauteed them in seperate pan and then put them in after I added the rue mixture and simmered 30 min extra, made a wonderful difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
Absolutely love this recipe! At first it was much too salty for us and I couldn't figure out why I was the only reviewer who thought so. Turns out, I was using the wrong size beef cubes. The ones I used were twice the size of what should be used. I had been using those cubes for years and just assumed they were standard. Anyway, perfect recipe, but I just add a touch more cheese becasue my family likes it cheesy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I have had the soup at the Outback, and this is quite similar, however, I would suggest using low-sodium boullion. The only fault I had with the recipe is that it as waaay too salty. Also, to address two issues from other reviewers: to keep the onions from dissolving, yes, simmer and do not boil them, but also, just quarter the onions, do not slice them thinly; regarding the clumpy flour issue: as others have suggested, slowly add broth from the cooking soup until you have it as smooth as you can get it, then stick it in a blender, or a 'magic bullet' to puree out the rest of the lumps. Stir it gently back into the pot. Smooth as silk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
Very yummy, but had the same issues as others did with the flour clumping. I think the simmer time could be reduced too b/c the onions fell apart. All and all I will make again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very good. Since only two of us- I halfed the receipe. No reason to cook the onions that long. I added the salt and pepper during the first 30 min simmering, omitted the second 30 min. simmering. mixed the cold water and flour until smooth (no lumps), removed the onions from the hot broth. added some of hot broth mixture to the flour mixture, mixing well ,then adding the flour mixture to the hot broth, wisking well. then added the onions again, simmered about 15 min til thickened and then added the half and half and cheese. Simmer til heated. Be careful not to scorch when cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
LOVED THIS SOUP. Kept this recipe just as written but since it made too much for the two of us so we saved half thesoup and used it as a base and added shrimp for a bisque type. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Made some changes but a great recipe. I used 4oz. of Farmer cheese & 8oz. of White Sharp cheddar + increased the salt and pepper to taste + 4 fresh diced garlic cloves & 1 tablespoon of dried parsley. Do not follow the directions for adding the flour. Remove some hot broth from the soup and stir or blend with until smooth (like thick gravy); then just add back while stirring and you will not have lumps. You do not need a whisk. Next time I am adding sliced fresh portabella mushrooms about 5 minutes before done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Definately make again! Cut down all times by half and it tasted less bland & onions stayed intact. Highly recommended recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
This soup needs something..some more flavor...it's a bit too bland for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The curious cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Rich and Simple French Onion Soup

Caramelized onions are infused in a rich broth, topped with bread and cheese.

French Onion Soup Gratinee

A filling, satisfying, cheesy onion soup that really warms you up, deliciously.

French Onion Soup

Learn how to make this classic, comforting onion soup at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States