Out of this World Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is my first ever post but have read many. We made this brine exactly as described and can add that make sure you have a large enough container to hold the two gallons because it's worth it. We brined our 14 pound bird for 36 hours and then rinsed it thoroughly as other posters have indicated for the full two minutes to avoid saltiness. We then applied a wet rub. We decided to put it on the BBQ as one poster had said. We never had to baste, not once. Our family said it was the best bird they have ever eaten. I have sent this brine recipe to all of them and we will never go back to putting our bird in the oven and just basting every twenty minutes again. I'm writing this as I am eating a piece of cold leftover turkey and it's still moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
Fantastic. The turkey was perfectly flavored and extra moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This was by far the best Turkey we ever had. I did add more garlic than called for. Used wash pail but line it wit a plastic garbage bag so it was easier to handle. This was a winner!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delhi, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
We started using this recipe after we tried to deep fry a turkey, did not like deep frying so the next year we used the BBQ Pit. I researched brining recipes and found this one and have never done anything different. Every year we make at least one turkey on the pit(extremely large pit so it really smokes it) The benefit is that it does not take up room in the oven so I have more space to cook. Everybody RAVES about it and always wants to know how to make it. They cannot believe how juicy, and flavorful it is. My vegetarian niece even said that she cannot wait for her Uncle Gordons turkey for Christmas this year, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Absolutely wonderful. Also used the same brine on brisket!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Very juicy turkey! Had a cheap turkey, but it tasted great. Everyone went back for seconds and thirds. Even heard one guy say it was the best he had ever eaten. Only downside is that you can't use drippings for gravy, due to the brown sugar in the brine. I imagine it would make the gravy sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pineville, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
I've been brining and smoking turkeys many years. I think this recipe is the best! It was so juicy and the brine flavor did not over power.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I used this for my smoked turkey recipe listed below. Great addition. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DOUGKOJAK

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pana, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burleson, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Love it. Very easy to mix. Turkey was very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Very good brine, and it was easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Hull, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 500) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States