Out of this World Turkey Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This was the first time I have brined a turkey. I defrosted the turkey for 3 days and brined for 2 days as stated in another review. The only thing I did differently was using Kosher salt instead of canning salt(I couldn't find any). I baked an 11.28Lb turkey for about 3 1/2 hours at 350 degrees and it came out PERFECT!!! The popper from in the turkey actually popped at about 3 hours 10 minutes. I wouldn't change a thing to this recipe. The whole family raved about how juice this turkey was. This will definitely be my go to recipe whenever we have turkey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
The best brine I've done A+++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monique DesRoches Jacques

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I used this for a turkey I smoked at Thanksgiving. It was great. I used an igloo drink cooler. The kind you see at a sports event or construction site. I put the turkey inside an oven roaster bag and poured the brine in with it. Put it in the cooler with ice. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Best turkey ever!! I smoked a turkey for Thanksgiving, and found this recipe for a brine. Followed it as is, and this turned out to be the best turkey I have ever made! Will keep useing this brine, 100% recomened!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I'll keep it simple. Followed the recipe, brined for 2 days, cooked it indirectly on the Webber with no additional seasoning added. The best turkey ever. Period.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Faught

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
If I could give more then 5, I would give 10 stars! I always brine poultry prior to cooking - have done it for years - and take the process seriously. However, I spotted this recipe and figured why not? SO SO SO glad I did! I had 2 turkeys - one to roast in the oven and one to smoke on the grill. It took 3 gallons of water to cover both in a huge kettle. I made the recipe for 2 gallons of water, added to the turkeys in a kettle and then just added 1 more gallon of water. Although diluted, it was still the most amazing brine ever! Who takes poultry from the brine and says - wow this smells amazing?? NO ONE - until this! I had a 10 pound turkey and a 12 pound turkey; both fresh. I don't know if they were injected or not at butcher. I rinsed the brine off and cooked. They both gained pounds after brining! The brine created such a juicy turkey, very forgiving after long cooking times. These had to be the best turkeys I have EVER made. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Best brine ever! Made my turkey the best tasting bird we ever had. Brined it for 2 days in a roaster bag and placed in a roaster pan for stability. Turned it twice. Yuummmmm.....only way I will make turkey for now on! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have never cooked a turkey and this was my year to cook one so I decided to brine it first. I used this recipe. I brined a pre-basted 12 pound butterball. After reading the reviews for this recipe, some reviewers said that it resulted in a very salty turkey, so I put in only 1 cup of sea salt and added some onions and thyme and brined it for approx. 12 hours in a 5-gallon bucket. My turkey turned out great. Wasn't salty at all and the turkey came out super moist. Definitely will do this next year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I use brines often and especially with turkey. I followed this recipe exactly but I think the two day brining process made the turkey overly salty. If I use this recipe again I will cut back to one day of brining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Great brine. Don't waste your time or money if you have a large bird on the roasting bags, they blow open. :-( large bucket is the way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Out of This World Turkey Brine

Brining your turkey preps it perfectly for smoking or roasting.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States