Out of this World Pasta Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cathy Myers
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Love Hidden Valley products but did not particularly care for this pasta salad. Taste was mediocre at best. On the other hand, it might encourage children to eat their veggies because of the cute shapes of the veggies and mild taste of the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This was just okay in my book. I modified the veggies to fit our tastes (and what was on sale at the store) so I left out the black olives (olives belong in martinis, in my book.) I couldn't find the alien broccoli, so I used regular broccoli like most of the other reviewers. I think the sauce needs some kick - if I try this again I might take other reviewers' advice and add some dry ranch seasoning to it. Anyway, it was just okay, although my husband seemed to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Wasn't a fan of this recipe. It was bland and hubby and I felt it needed a lot more seasonings. I ended up adding 1/4 c of parmesan cheese and some garlic seasoning. That helped quite a bit, but it still wasn't enough to make this a keeper. I didn't cut the peppers into shapes, and looking back, I'm actually glad I didn't waste time doing so. I doubt I'd make this again. It was very easy to make though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is an especially easy kid-friendly meal--especially if you add some type of protein like chicken. For adults I think it needs a little more flavor, like adding some of the dry Hidden Valley Ranch mix to it. I did add some parmesan cheese. Thank you for the idea of this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This isn't anything I would make again. Like many other reviewers I couldn't find the romanesco broccoli aka roman cauliflower but I don't think the addition would have changed my thoughts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
This is a good base for a pasta salad but it needs some help. It is a bit on the bland side. Cutting the veggies into shapes is a nice touch for special occasions but a simple dice is just fine for everyday. I chopped our carrot instead of diced as well. Alike others I could not find the alien broccoli so used regular florets. I have made a ranch pasta salad similar to this in the past when I needed something last minute, tomato, cheddar cheese, red onion, bacon, chicken along with a few seasonings to add to oomph it up can turn this salad from eh to yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
I wasn't very succesful at cutting out shapes so I got frustrated and basically diced everything. I used regular broccoli because I couldn't find romanesco. After tasting the salad, I decided to throw in some minced red onion because I really like the touch it adds to salads of any kind. I liked the crunch of the vegetables and the colorful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by Caroline
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
Good pasta salad. It's easy to make, has good flavor, and looks pretty with all the colors. I used regular broccoli, which was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Collegeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
I don't think this was very interesting and somewhat bland. Noodles with ranch is how my sister described it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountain Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
We thought this recipe was just so-so. I skipped the wagon wheel pasta and skipped cutting the peppers into shapes (an unnecessary tedius task if you don't have kids). I couldn't find the Romanesco broccoli, so just used regular. I have loved Hidden Valley Ranch for years, but I think we prefer Italian dressing on our pasta salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States