'Out of Salad Dressing' Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I really can't understand negative reviews on this recipe unless the directions were not followed. I found this to be an excellent recipe, and served it to two persons who are both excellent cooks. They loved it. This is the kind of recipe I come to allrecipes.com to find.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
We loved it. I didn't have lemons so I used apple cidar vinegar. Also used half & half instead of milk. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAMRAKAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
this is a great, imperceptible salad dressing, especially for salads that don’t need much spicing up, but i would suggest using buttermilk instead of normal milk and adding some pepper. i would also replace the garlic salt with just normal garlic, or just use less garlic salt because of the dominant salty taste the garlic salt has. Instead of using water to make the dressing thinner, I would suggest just adding olive oil or more buttermilk to prevent the dressing having a bland taste. I also think putting the dressing in the fridge for 8 hours is not obligatory, though it probably tastes better if you do so. Tarragon would also go great with this salad dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2005
Too salty! Had to throw first batch out. Parm cheese is salty enough...do not add salt products. Add garlic powder or a clove of fresh instead of garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
I actually think this is one of the best salad dressings I have had in a long time and we ate it right away I did not let it set. I also added parsley and pepper and I put a lot less lemon in. I also added a dollop of sour cream. Anyway it was yummy! I will try this again and set it overnight not that this needs any improving at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I thought this was delicious. Right after I made it,it tasted just like creamy italian. After refrigerating for 12 hours it had a wonderfully unusual flavor...the lemon flavor came out alot more. My salad loving 21 month old daughter loved it too. It's hard to find good creamy salad dressings that don't have MSG...this one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
Absolutely FANTASTIC !!!! Didn't have any lemons but had limes instead...was GREAT !!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AGGIEMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Temple, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I WAS REALLY LOOKING FOWARD TO THIS BECAUSE OF ALL THE GOOD REVIEWS..I ONLY ATE A FEW BITES OF MY SALAD...I WILL NEVER MAKE THIS AGAIN..WOULD MUCH RATHER HAVE BOTTLED DRESSING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This was ok but nothing spactacular. If you decide to make do not add garlic salt use real garlic or garlic powder instead. This was very salty. Maybe a little lemon would also be a good touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
As suggested in the instructions, I substituted low-fat ingredients, including low-fat Parmesan cheese (not freshly grated though), 1% milk, and no-fat mayo. In all fairness, let me be clear that my "2" rating is for the "low-fat" version. The real McCoy may be wonderful, but the low-fat version is average, at best. One reviewer said this tasted a bit like Caesar dressing. I would agree with that. I'm not an especially good fan of Caesar dressing either. This recipe isn't horrible--just not one I would likely prepare again--unless I run out of other dressing, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States