'Out of Salad Dressing' Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
My God, this is good. I was forlorn -- no salad dressing, no sour cream, no buttermilk. But I did have mayo and lemons! And fresh dill, which I added, and it tasted super delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Great! I wasn't expecting it to be any good, but have been craving a creamy dressing. Used fresh garlic instead of powder, and used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk, with a dash of olive oil and pepper for extra flavor. A little thin but very tasty, like a super super simple Ceaser dressing! I love that there are so many options for adjustment and experimentation. Have plans to try adding anchovies to make it more Ceaser-y, or maybe olives and feta for a greek style, and there are so many possibilities. A great, simple dressing by itself, or open to so many other ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Excellent base for a creamy dressing. You can add any kind of herbs/spice to this and make it your own. I loved it. I rarely buy dressing as it is, and I probably never will now that I have a recipe to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
great easy we stopped buying store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Great recipe to use when you don't have time to run to the store to buy more dressing!! I didn't follow the measurements exactly, and used a lot less milk. This is a good base recipe to change amounts to suit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I made this dressing this morning for my hubby and after lunch he called me saying his office mates asked him to make it again. my hubby likes it very much. I made changes to the original given ingredients - I doubled the volume of parmesan and milk, I dont have garlic salt to what I used 1 glove of fresh garlic and mashed it then I added pinch of salt and pepper to taste. then I added sliced boiled on and left over pork chops sliced it and make it as topping then im not satisfied yet I slice few leaves of green onion and it came out fantastic!!! I will make this again. thanks for posting. I attached the photo too for you to see :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Excellent Recipe - Used 1 tsp. Salt 1 tsp. Garlic Powder and added some dried chives and parsley. This is the first salad dressing i've made that was actually pourable - my husband who is an oil and vinegar man tried it and now he uses it all the time. Definitely a keeper and hit!! Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I don't usually keep bottled salad dressing on hand, so I'm always glad to find a dressing that I can adjust to the amount I need. Didn't really measure as I was making this, but probably used more lemon juice and only added a very small amount of milk. The other changes I made were to add some white sugar and freshly ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Great in a pinch! I'm on a diet and used low fat ingredients, and it was still delicious... even my non-dieting boyfriend loved it. I added a little pepper, and halved the mayo, using sour cream for the other half since I was low on mayo. I don't know how it tastes using only mayo, but the way I did it was tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This turned out great! i took others' advice and added a clove of garlic, minced finely along with some ground black pepper and a few dried parsley flakes. it kinda reminded me of the base for the ranch dressing i use i make of outback steakhouse's recipe on topsecretrecipes.com. also didn't have parm. used pecorino. didn't really remind me of caesar as someone else suggested; was very creamy & mild. def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adel, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States