'Out of Salad Dressing' Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
My God, this is good. I was forlorn -- no salad dressing, no sour cream, no buttermilk. But I did have mayo and lemons! And fresh dill, which I added, and it tasted super delicious! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Great! I wasn't expecting it to be any good, but have been craving a creamy dressing. Used fresh garlic instead of powder, and used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of milk, with a dash of olive oil and pepper for extra flavor. A little thin but very tasty, like a super super simple Ceaser dressing! I love that there are so many options for adjustment and experimentation. Have plans to try adding anchovies to make it more Ceaser-y, or maybe olives and feta for a greek style, and there are so many possibilities. A great, simple dressing by itself, or open to so many other ideas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
Excellent base for a creamy dressing. You can add any kind of herbs/spice to this and make it your own. I loved it. I rarely buy dressing as it is, and I probably never will now that I have a recipe to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
great easy we stopped buying store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Great recipe to use when you don't have time to run to the store to buy more dressing!! I didn't follow the measurements exactly, and used a lot less milk. This is a good base recipe to change amounts to suit your own tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine
Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I made this dressing this morning for my hubby and after lunch he called me saying his office mates asked him to make it again. my hubby likes it very much. I made changes to the original given ingredients - I doubled the volume of parmesan and milk, I dont have garlic salt to what I used 1 glove of fresh garlic and mashed it then I added pinch of salt and pepper to taste. then I added sliced boiled on and left over pork chops sliced it and make it as topping then im not satisfied yet I slice few leaves of green onion and it came out fantastic!!! I will make this again. thanks for posting. I attached the photo too for you to see :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josephine

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Excellent Recipe - Used 1 tsp. Salt 1 tsp. Garlic Powder and added some dried chives and parsley. This is the first salad dressing i've made that was actually pourable - my husband who is an oil and vinegar man tried it and now he uses it all the time. Definitely a keeper and hit!! Thanks :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I don't usually keep bottled salad dressing on hand, so I'm always glad to find a dressing that I can adjust to the amount I need. Didn't really measure as I was making this, but probably used more lemon juice and only added a very small amount of milk. The other changes I made were to add some white sugar and freshly ground black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Great in a pinch! I'm on a diet and used low fat ingredients, and it was still delicious... even my non-dieting boyfriend loved it. I added a little pepper, and halved the mayo, using sour cream for the other half since I was low on mayo. I don't know how it tastes using only mayo, but the way I did it was tasty!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
This turned out great! i took others' advice and added a clove of garlic, minced finely along with some ground black pepper and a few dried parsley flakes. it kinda reminded me of the base for the ranch dressing i use i make of outback steakhouse's recipe on topsecretrecipes.com. also didn't have parm. used pecorino. didn't really remind me of caesar as someone else suggested; was very creamy & mild. def a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adel, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bend, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Famous Japanese Restaurant-Style Salad Dressing

A simple, tangy salad dressing you make in the blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States