Our Favorite Olive Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
So easy and delicious! I added a few cloves of garlic. I substituted diced tomatoes + italian seasoning for stewed tomatoes, because that's what I had on hand. I didn't add any of the olive liquid, since other reviewers said it was too salty. There was still plenty of olive flavor without being too salty, and it still made lots of yummy sauce. The olives play a big role, so get good ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This is not something my kids were a big fan of but adults really like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenn0rob

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frankton, Indiana, USA
Living In: Elwood, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Excellent with the addition of some vinegar peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Not as good as I had hoped it would be. I love olives, but found this to be overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
I thought this was excellent. It had a very unique flavor. My husband loved it as well. We served it over pasta instead of on kaiser rolls. It was so easy. I followed the directions. I was concerned about not browning the meat, but it came out tender and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Added crushed garlic, onion powder, and next time will add peppercorns. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshkosh, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Fantastic! I wasn't too sure how I was going to like this recipe, but I was pleasantly surprised. Full of flavor, but not at all overwhelming. I did use one can of stewed tomatoes and one can of diced tomatoes, as that's what I had on hand. Also, I was in a hurry so I just dumped the olives in without chopping them. I served it on toasted kaiser rolls with mozzarella cheese on top. Yum! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I did add an onion and a couple tablespoons of red wine, this would have been really good with a different roast, chuck roast just has too many fatty pieces for my taste. That being said the broth was absolutly fantastic, and it could not have been easier to make. I recomend doing it on high for 6 hours not low although that could just be my machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grifo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cragsmoor, New York, USA
Living In: Valrico, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Easy for a day when you're going to be out all day. I found that rinsing the olives takes away much of the saltiness. It's a good fall-back recipe when time is short for prep and you need something when you get home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chico, California, USA
Living In: Stockton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This is the perfect dish to serve the night before Thanksgiving or the night before Christmas Eve. It's delicious, easy, quick and frees up the kitchen for Holiday cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Barbecued Beef

Watch how to make this zesty dish.

Original Homemade Italian Beef

Make tender, delicious, slightly spicy Italian beef in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States