Our Favorite Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
made this cake for my girl scout troop bake off and it won second place!! loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heathery
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I love this recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heathery

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
To the frosting I had to add 1/4 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leighsheila
Home Town: Jamestown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I followed the recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doofgal29
Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We were very disappointed with this cake. The only change I made was to use an extra ounce of chocolate per other reviews. The cake was dry--and still didn't have much chocolate flavor. Definitely not worth the effort! The search goes on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
i always use this recipe. Love it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chopped Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I baked this cake as a bundt and it came out fairly well. It seemed to be pretty dry when I first took it out of the pan, but we waited to eat it the next day. It was much more moist than I expected after being in a closed plastic container. I glazed the cake right before we ate it. If serving soon after baking, or if it is still not quite moist enough, you may want to try spreading a layer of sugar syrup on the top and letting it soak in. Letting it set overnight is generally best. My husband loved it and he grew up with a chocolate loving mom, so that's saying something. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
this is a great recipe. A few tweeks that I made that I thought worked was adding a shot or two of chocolate syrup to the batter and the frosting I only used 4 tbl butter and 2 cups confectioners sugar and splashed the milk in unil desired consistancy. Then I topped the cake with chocolate chips and dusted with instant Mocha. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Great recipe! I made cupcakes, they baked perfectly and tasted even better. My family agreed they tasted like brownies. I followed the recipe but omitted the coffee, and didn't try the icing. I also found as others have that they had a melt in your mouth texture. I will be making these agian! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Very good and easy. I left out the coffee and it tasted great. I used it in a cake mold for my son's birthday party and it worked fine. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is that it was just a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States