Our Favorite Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used 1/2 a bag of Ghirardelli semi sweet chocolate chips in this recipe instead of 2 oz of unsweetened and baked it in my jelly roll pan. Covered it with a mixture of 1 can vanilla frosting and 1 tub of coolwhip. Rolled it up and topped it with the recipe for Chocolate Ganache on here. It turned out like a marvelous yummy gigantic swiss cake roll and everyone loved it! If you are going to make a roll cake remember to roll the cake up by placing a towel well coated in powdered sugar on the cake and rolling it up around the towel and letting it cool this way. Then it won't crack up in the end when you fill it and roll it. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Leech

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Great recipe! I made cupcakes, they baked perfectly and tasted even better. My family agreed they tasted like brownies. I followed the recipe but omitted the coffee, and didn't try the icing. I also found as others have that they had a melt in your mouth texture. I will be making these agian! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I followed the recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doofgal29
Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by numy
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
this cake has a very rich choclate flavour and a very moist texture that melts in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by numy

Cooking Level: Professional

Photo by Heathery
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I love this recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heathery

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
wow. this cake is so good. i added a little maple flavoring and some sweetened dark chocolate. for 2 9' round pans it took 30 minutes exactly. another thing i liked is that it didnt turn all round on top like the box cakes. i was able to put the two on top of each other without them breaking! thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Delicious! Very nice texture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This turned out beautifully! The batter was perfect and fluffy. It looked almost like chocolate pudding (i had to keep fighting the urge to eat it with a spoon!), and baked up nicely as cupcakes. I made a few changes. I used four ounces of chocolate, because I was pairing it with a very sweet frosting, and wanted it to have a deeper chocolate flavor, I used cake flour instead of all-purpose, and I used the suggestion of cream rather than milk. This will be my go-to chocolate cake! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
i always use this recipe. Love it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chopped Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I made this cake for work, and got rave reviews. I used butter instead of shortening, and heavy cream instead of the milk. I also added 2oz of chocolate to it, as it was being frosted with chocolate butter cream. Didn't want it to be too sweet. It got rated "absolutely sinful" by one coworker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States