Our Favorite Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by numy
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
this cake has a very rich choclate flavour and a very moist texture that melts in the mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by numy

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
wow. this cake is so good. i added a little maple flavoring and some sweetened dark chocolate. for 2 9' round pans it took 30 minutes exactly. another thing i liked is that it didnt turn all round on top like the box cakes. i was able to put the two on top of each other without them breaking! thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
I made the cake part only, not the frosting. I had to add another ounce of chocolate because it wasn't chocolate-y enough for us. I made cupcakes, baked for about 15 minutes, then watched them closely til done (around 18 minutes). Moist, with a nice taste and texture. I'm pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I hate to be the first with a negative review, but I found this cake to be fairly dry and crumbly. I am a good baker and am not sure why it didn't turn out well. I DID make two changes: I used butter instead of shortening (which I always do and have not experienced a problem before), and I added an extra ounce of baking chocolate. The flavor was pretty good, but the cake crumbled too easily. I made a 12" round cake and it was done in exactly 24 minutes. I didn't make the icing but used a rolled fondant icing instead. There is a chance that I made a mistake and it's not the recipe's fault, but I don't think that's the case. I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I used 1/2 a bag of Ghirardelli semi sweet chocolate chips in this recipe instead of 2 oz of unsweetened and baked it in my jelly roll pan. Covered it with a mixture of 1 can vanilla frosting and 1 tub of coolwhip. Rolled it up and topped it with the recipe for Chocolate Ganache on here. It turned out like a marvelous yummy gigantic swiss cake roll and everyone loved it! If you are going to make a roll cake remember to roll the cake up by placing a towel well coated in powdered sugar on the cake and rolling it up around the towel and letting it cool this way. Then it won't crack up in the end when you fill it and roll it. Yum Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Leech

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
add choc chips, otherwise it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Delicious! Very nice texture as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This turned out beautifully! The batter was perfect and fluffy. It looked almost like chocolate pudding (i had to keep fighting the urge to eat it with a spoon!), and baked up nicely as cupcakes. I made a few changes. I used four ounces of chocolate, because I was pairing it with a very sweet frosting, and wanted it to have a deeper chocolate flavor, I used cake flour instead of all-purpose, and I used the suggestion of cream rather than milk. This will be my go-to chocolate cake! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I agreed with Sarah, one of the other reviewers, that this cake was on the dry and crumbly side, so the 3 stars is my oppinion. The taste wasn't bad, but not chocolaty enough for me. I did have to make a change and use baking cocoa instead of the chocolate it called for, although substitutions of this sort are right on the can, I've done it before. Now as for my families oppinion.... they all seemed to like it. One of my daughters said it's her favorite, and my husband said the cake tasted like the cake in devil dogs. But as for me, I'm going to keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Like others have said, it needs more chocolate. I did like that it was easy to make and didn't need too many ingredients. I will experiment with different ingredients to see what works and what don't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina M

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States