Our Favorite Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
made this cake for my girl scout troop bake off and it won second place!! loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heathery
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I love this recipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heathery

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
To the frosting I had to add 1/4 cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leighsheila
Home Town: Jamestown, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
I followed the recipe and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doofgal29
Living In: Pittsburg, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We were very disappointed with this cake. The only change I made was to use an extra ounce of chocolate per other reviews. The cake was dry--and still didn't have much chocolate flavor. Definitely not worth the effort! The search goes on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kisavirgo
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
i always use this recipe. Love it a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chopped Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I baked this cake as a bundt and it came out fairly well. It seemed to be pretty dry when I first took it out of the pan, but we waited to eat it the next day. It was much more moist than I expected after being in a closed plastic container. I glazed the cake right before we ate it. If serving soon after baking, or if it is still not quite moist enough, you may want to try spreading a layer of sugar syrup on the top and letting it soak in. Letting it set overnight is generally best. My husband loved it and he grew up with a chocolate loving mom, so that's saying something. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
this is a great recipe. A few tweeks that I made that I thought worked was adding a shot or two of chocolate syrup to the batter and the frosting I only used 4 tbl butter and 2 cups confectioners sugar and splashed the milk in unil desired consistancy. Then I topped the cake with chocolate chips and dusted with instant Mocha. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Great recipe! I made cupcakes, they baked perfectly and tasted even better. My family agreed they tasted like brownies. I followed the recipe but omitted the coffee, and didn't try the icing. I also found as others have that they had a melt in your mouth texture. I will be making these agian! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
Very good and easy. I left out the coffee and it tasted great. I used it in a cake mold for my son's birthday party and it worked fine. The only reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is that it was just a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States