Our Favorite Balsamic Vinaigrette Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Hi! This is my recipe and I want to let you know that I only use a really good quality balsamic for this which tends to be sweet. If you do use a lesser quality vinegar you may need to add a little more honey. It still turns out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Simple and delicious! Definitely use a good quality balsamic and you can't go wrong. This has a nice sweetness to it - perfect over mixed greens! Thanks for a great recipe MATTSBELLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I'm not typically a fan of balsamic vinegar, but I did like this dressing. Neither overly sweet nor overly tangy, tho' I did adjust the oil and vinegar to the 3:1 ratio I prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
About 30 years ago, I was watching a cooking show where they were making salad dressing. They said that if you added mustard, it would act like a binder between the oil and vinegar. They said you could always use lemon juice, too. Since then, mustard is always added. It doesn't take much. I prefer my dressing more 1:1 ratio of oil and vinegar. Also, if you use garlic powder instead of fresh and leave out the shallot, you can leave the dressing out on the counter, so if you are using olive oil, you don't have to wait for it to "melt." I always have some made and ready on the counter, and it is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This is incredible. I made this early this morning so it would have time to set before dinner. I did increase the garlic but that's really a matter of personal taste. I think this would be really good with some chopped fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
The first words out of my daughter’s mouth were “This is really great dressing, where did you get it?” When I told her I got it on AR, she immediately wanted the recipe. This dressing had the perfect combination of flavors for us. We loved it. If you don’t have a high quality balsamic vinegar, I recommend adding a little extra honey to compensate for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
FABULOUS!!!! I made a grilled romaine lettuce salad with roasted yellow & red cherry tomatoes, roasted red pepper and topped with feta, with this dressing on the side. Our main dish was Korean Beef scewers w/rice noodles (300 CALORIES) that my neighbor made......it was a perfect combo and caloric wise.....approx 450-ish TOTAL! I will make this dressing forever!!!! I didn't have shallots so I subbed with a oinch of onion powder.....Did the trick! THANKS!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schubug

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Penfield, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Excellent dressing! It went perfectly with some of my favorite salad ingredients: romaine, spinach, bleu cheese, sunflower nuts and craisins. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I did not have shallots but this was still really good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This makes a very tasty vinaigrette. I needed to increase the honey a little to get the right flavor balance. Great as written, but a nice variation is to add some sun dried tomatoes with a big pinch of oregano and basil to the basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

"Roasted Tomato" and Balsamic Vinaigrette

See Chef John make a super-simple vinaigrette with complex flavors.

Balsamic Vinaigrette

This tangy dressing uses white balsamic vinegar for a smoother taste.

Raspberry Vinaigrette Dressing

Raspberry wine vinegar and Dijon mustard make an irresistible salad dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States