Osso Buco Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Great recipe but modified it a little. Who wants to cook something more than 2 hours??? Followed the recipe with the exception of cook time, cooked it for 30 minutes in a pressure cooker. The meat was fork tender, the taste was fantastic. Give it a try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Bayside, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Made this a few times according to recipe, the only thing that I did different was instead of water I added dry white wine and chicken stock, instead of the onion I used shallots. It came out very good. Another time I substituted Dry Sack sherry 1/2 cup and chicken broth, 1 leek along with shallots....delicious! The addition of the sherry and leek made the sauce richer and more buttery tasting. The 3rd time was the best, I roasted the veggies(shallot,leek,carrot) first till almost caramelized, then added the Dry sherry, some veal broth I made, and the celery. Braised the shanks in that till falling off bone tender. This version was best of all 3, it had all the great taste of the others except just better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Diana Mc
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I usually order this at my favorite restaurant. I decided to give it a whirl for dinner. Wow, it was delicious. I served it over saffron risotto with a gremalotta on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Mc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plaistow, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by Deborah Ann
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This is excellent. I did not have veal shanks used beef shanks and it was so tender fell off the bone. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
I made it as written except I used beef as veal shank was not available. For the first try, it was pretty good. I will continue to look around for more Osso Buco recipe to try but will definitely keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very tasty and filling. We served it over mashed potatoes. Nice change from the usual beef stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Made this for my birthday along with the ricotta gnocchi recipe on here. Both were amazing and simple. Prepped the Osso first and set aside to cook for 2 1/2 hours. It needs no watching just simmer and forget about it! Veal fell off the bone, no knife necessary! Gnocchi was far more simple than expected. And ingredients you can add are endless. Best birthday dinner ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Cooked this with stew beef because we don't like veal. It came out wonderful. Instead of a can of tomatoes I chopped 4 plums up and sauteed them with the other veggies and then used a cup of wine and a can of chicken broth to get the liquid. I also used the pancentta when I sauteed since this is how real osso buco is made. I also added a bunch of fresh (instead of dried) thyme, basil, rosemary and a few bay leaves in a cheesecloth while it cooked, it actually made the dish what it was... I used polenta as a base. Everyone gobbled it up and the rest of the gravy we will use on some rice for lunch today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMANNING

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I tried the recipe and cooked it in the crockpot using beef broth mixed with the herbs and added two sliced sweet potatoes. I covered the sweet potatoes with the remainder of the ingredients and then poured 2 - 8 oz cans of tomato sauce on top. I cooked it in the crockpot on low for 10 hours. It was very good with cous cous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is delicious! Savory, rich and full flavored....cant miss with this recipe! Thank you Amy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Osso Bucco

Learn how to make this classic, slow-braised, northern Italian veal shank.

Beef Bourguignon

Learn how to make this delicious beef stew, slow-cooked in red wine.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States