Orzo with Tomatoes, Basil, and Gorgonzola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Hubby's remark at the dinner table was that this "needed something" and I agree. It needed the gorgonzola the recipe called for but I couldn't add because he doesn't like it. I didn't measure ingredients, just added to taste, and used chicken broth rather than vegetable. Three stars, average and kind of boring, the way I had to make it - and four stars had it been prepared the way the submitter intended with the gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe was very good. I'm giving it 5 stars because of ease and taste and the versatility I can foresee with this recipe. Exactly as written makes for a lovely vegetarian meal. I have been wanting to make this for a while, but Trader Joes has been out of Orzo and I kept forgetting to look for it at the regular market. Ok, back to the recipe. I didn't have any veggie broth, but I had chicken so I used that. It doesn't matter what liquid you use and the possibilities would be endless. The only other deviation was I didn't have Gorgonzola. I thought I did- we LOVE it, but I only had Feta. So in went the Feta. All else I kept the same except I used tomatoes out of my garden chopped and not cherry, but a tomato is a tomato, right? It was delish with the Feta and I could see adding in Kalamata olives to it for more of a Mediterranean flavor. I think you could also use mozzarella cheese for more of an Italian vibe. I will be making this again with the gorgonzola for sure plus playing around with some additional flavors. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Made it as the recipe called for, except I couldn't find gorgonzolla cheese so used feta and used fat free chicken broth. It was WONDERFUL! My husband loved it! We'll make this again. One tip, keep a close eye on the orzo. I turned my back on it for a couple of minutes and almost burned it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Very tasty. I made a few modifications. I used mozzerella instead or gorgonzola and sage, dill, and chives instead of basil. I also only used a quarter of an onion, which is good because the onion was STRONG. My housemates eyes are watering from the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
My husband absolutely loved this recipe! I thought it was pretty good myself. My only suggestion is to add the tomatoes to the orzo in the last 2 minutes so it will take the edge off the raw tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I used Roma tomatoes and chicken broth due to availability. Other than that I made this as written. I found that I like Gorgonzola cheese but it was too over-whelming in this dish. 1/3 of that amount would have been plenty. I didn't appreciate the flavor of th orzo as much once it was browned. It did brown very quickly too so be careful. I used 1 average sized red onion and felt like I could have either chopped it smaller or used less of it. I wish the author specified what size or a quantity of this ingredient to use. Because the flavor of the cheese was so overpowering I added some leftover chicken breast. This didn't help much. The next time I make this I will reduce the amount of cheese by 2/3's and possibly the onion as well. I will also not brown the orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
this is a winner. I always use Maytag blue cheese. The best part--this is a room temp dish, so can be made ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I tried it as written, and I would give it a three. Made again, we used feta instead and added just a splash of balsamic vinegar to the tomato mixture. Much better that time. The gorgonzola was a little strong for me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
My husband and I thought there was too much gorgonzola, I'll try it again but I will cut the cheese in half. For us it just took over the whole flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wood River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Great recipe! Very easy to follow. Both my husband and I loved it. It's also very healthy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States