Orzo with Tomatoes, Basil, and Gorgonzola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Simpl, easy, and delicious! Great combonation of flavors. It was a perfect side with a pork tenderloin. I found that no changes were needed :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was a delicious recipe! I used chicken broth instead of veggie, and used feta cheese instead of gorgonzola. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
great recipe! I did not use the amt of Gorgonzola cheese, to much. I took the advice of others who rated the recipe. will definitely make again!! very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I used Roma tomatoes and chicken broth due to availability. Other than that I made this as written. I found that I like Gorgonzola cheese but it was too over-whelming in this dish. 1/3 of that amount would have been plenty. I didn't appreciate the flavor of th orzo as much once it was browned. It did brown very quickly too so be careful. I used 1 average sized red onion and felt like I could have either chopped it smaller or used less of it. I wish the author specified what size or a quantity of this ingredient to use. Because the flavor of the cheese was so overpowering I added some leftover chicken breast. This didn't help much. The next time I make this I will reduce the amount of cheese by 2/3's and possibly the onion as well. I will also not brown the orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe! Made this ahead for work lunches and it really satisfied. I used chicken broth instead of veggie b/c that was what I had, diced plum tomatoes instead of cherry, and used cubed mozzarella instead of gorgonzola due to availability. The orzo does brown quickly so be careful. I added toasted pine nuts, which really accented the nutty flavor of the pasta and added a nice little crunch. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Great thing to do with summer garden "stuff" . The cheese was important- it was the flavor it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLissa and Phillip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was delish! I didn't have fresh basil so I used dried and I used chicken broth instead of veggie. We thought it was the perfect amount of gorgonzola cheese. This was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
It was okay. I used sundried tomatoes because i don't like tomatoes it was good but lacked a wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muh-Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DamselDress
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I salivate by just thinking of this dish! I am an avid gorgonzola fan, but I would say that if you or your family isn't then parmesan or mozzerella cheese are delicious too. I really loved the texure and flavor of the toasted orzo, and then putting fresh tomatoes, garlic and basil on it took it to a sensual level! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This was fantastic. Very easy to make, I used chicken broth instead of vegetable because it's what I had. I also added a little parmeson with the gorgonzola. I doubled the recipe and 4 of us ate it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eruss

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States