Orzo with Tomatoes, Basil, and Gorgonzola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Great recipe! Easy to make. Browning the orzo was a great idea, it gave depth to this meal. This recipes is great for picnics, camping and other outdoor events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
My husband absolutely loved this recipe! I thought it was pretty good myself. My only suggestion is to add the tomatoes to the orzo in the last 2 minutes so it will take the edge off the raw tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2010
Simpl, easy, and delicious! Great combonation of flavors. It was a perfect side with a pork tenderloin. I found that no changes were needed :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This was a delicious recipe! I used chicken broth instead of veggie, and used feta cheese instead of gorgonzola. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
great recipe! I did not use the amt of Gorgonzola cheese, to much. I took the advice of others who rated the recipe. will definitely make again!! very healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I used Roma tomatoes and chicken broth due to availability. Other than that I made this as written. I found that I like Gorgonzola cheese but it was too over-whelming in this dish. 1/3 of that amount would have been plenty. I didn't appreciate the flavor of th orzo as much once it was browned. It did brown very quickly too so be careful. I used 1 average sized red onion and felt like I could have either chopped it smaller or used less of it. I wish the author specified what size or a quantity of this ingredient to use. Because the flavor of the cheese was so overpowering I added some leftover chicken breast. This didn't help much. The next time I make this I will reduce the amount of cheese by 2/3's and possibly the onion as well. I will also not brown the orzo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe! Made this ahead for work lunches and it really satisfied. I used chicken broth instead of veggie b/c that was what I had, diced plum tomatoes instead of cherry, and used cubed mozzarella instead of gorgonzola due to availability. The orzo does brown quickly so be careful. I added toasted pine nuts, which really accented the nutty flavor of the pasta and added a nice little crunch. Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Great thing to do with summer garden "stuff" . The cheese was important- it was the flavor it needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLissa and Phillip

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PamMar
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2009
This was delish! I didn't have fresh basil so I used dried and I used chicken broth instead of veggie. We thought it was the perfect amount of gorgonzola cheese. This was even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PamMar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
It was okay. I used sundried tomatoes because i don't like tomatoes it was good but lacked a wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Parus

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Worth, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States