Orzo with Tomatoes, Basil, and Gorgonzola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Absolutely amazing. It wasn't even what I was originally aiming for, as I wanted a completely chilled orzo meal, but it still floored me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ikusama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Wood Dale, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Love this! It was a universal and repeatable favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
What a wonderful way to use both gorgonzola and basil (lots comes from one of those plants, doesn't it?)! Very "gourmet" with little gourmet work! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Photo by SweetBasil
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
Delicious! Love the bite of the cheese with the creaminess of the orzo. I used chopped tomato and stirred it all together at the end. The texture reminded me of a risotto and I didn't even try for that! Hubby prefers feta (more mellow) so maybe next time I'll use half and half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
This was good. I doubled the orzo part but forgot to double the rest, so it was a little bland. My fault, not the recipe's. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Chase Simon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
I tried it as written, and I would give it a three. Made again, we used feta instead and added just a splash of balsamic vinegar to the tomato mixture. Much better that time. The gorgonzola was a little strong for me too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Overall it was quite good. However, I felt as is the gorgonzola somewhat overpowered the dish. Next time I will try using Fontina cheese so it allows the flavor of the tomato/basil mixture shine through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
If I could give this more stars I would....it was absolutely OUTSTANDING!!!!! I did use chicken broth, but that was my only change. Everything about this was perfect! I did layer one portion on the plate real nice so I could get a picture, but when it was time to eat, I just ended up mixing it all in a bowl and calling it a day, which ended up awesome because the gorgonzola cheese just started to melt and get creamy and everthing was just so....YUMMY! I will be making this OFTEN, really OFTEN!!!! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Great recipe! Easy to make. Browning the orzo was a great idea, it gave depth to this meal. This recipes is great for picnics, camping and other outdoor events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
My husband absolutely loved this recipe! I thought it was pretty good myself. My only suggestion is to add the tomatoes to the orzo in the last 2 minutes so it will take the edge off the raw tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States