Orzo with Tomatoes, Basil, and Gorgonzola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Great recipe! Very easy to follow. Both my husband and I loved it. It's also very healthy. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This recipe was very good. I'm giving it 5 stars because of ease and taste and the versatility I can foresee with this recipe. Exactly as written makes for a lovely vegetarian meal. I have been wanting to make this for a while, but Trader Joes has been out of Orzo and I kept forgetting to look for it at the regular market. Ok, back to the recipe. I didn't have any veggie broth, but I had chicken so I used that. It doesn't matter what liquid you use and the possibilities would be endless. The only other deviation was I didn't have Gorgonzola. I thought I did- we LOVE it, but I only had Feta. So in went the Feta. All else I kept the same except I used tomatoes out of my garden chopped and not cherry, but a tomato is a tomato, right? It was delish with the Feta and I could see adding in Kalamata olives to it for more of a Mediterranean flavor. I think you could also use mozzarella cheese for more of an Italian vibe. I will be making this again with the gorgonzola for sure plus playing around with some additional flavors. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
My husband and I thought there was too much gorgonzola, I'll try it again but I will cut the cheese in half. For us it just took over the whole flavor of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wood River, Illinois, USA
Living In: Crete, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Made it as the recipe called for, except I couldn't find gorgonzolla cheese so used feta and used fat free chicken broth. It was WONDERFUL! My husband loved it! We'll make this again. One tip, keep a close eye on the orzo. I turned my back on it for a couple of minutes and almost burned it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
so so delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Very tasty. I made a few modifications. I used mozzerella instead or gorgonzola and sage, dill, and chives instead of basil. I also only used a quarter of an onion, which is good because the onion was STRONG. My housemates eyes are watering from the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was great! I used chicken broth, upped the garlic and put fresh mozzerella on top! So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I had some grape tomatoes to use up and so I did a search for "pasta and tomatoes", and this wonderful recipe was amoungst my choices. I must I chose well. This was delicious!!!! Other than using chicken broth instead of veggie and using grape tomatoes instead of cherry tomatoes, made it as called for. My husband and I ate all of it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I have to say I followed the recipe to the T and LOVED it. It was a great crowd pleaser (only 4 of us) and my guests even wanted to take what we had left over home for the next day, will absolutely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
this is a winner. I always use Maytag blue cheese. The best part--this is a room temp dish, so can be made ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States