Orzo with Tomatoes, Basil, and Gorgonzola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
This is a great recipe, but it needs some spicing up. I used beef broth, doubled the garlic, and upped the amount of fresh basil. Also, I used parmesan cheese. I served it with chicken (grilled with spinach and mozzarella), and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Hubby's remark at the dinner table was that this "needed something" and I agree. It needed the gorgonzola the recipe called for but I couldn't add because he doesn't like it. I didn't measure ingredients, just added to taste, and used chicken broth rather than vegetable. Three stars, average and kind of boring, the way I had to make it - and four stars had it been prepared the way the submitter intended with the gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
Really good recipe. I used less than a half of a red onion and followed the recipe from that point on. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
This was SO good. I made it as a side dish with grilled salmon and it made a perfect, quick summertime on the patio. The only change I made is I warmed the tomato/olive oil/basil/garlic mixture over low heat - just because I love slightly cooked tomatoes! I used a bit less gorgonzola just to make it healthier. The cheese melted slightly and it had a great consistency and awesome flavor. The leftovers tasted great cold too. I will definitely be making again soon - THANK YOU!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
this is a winner. I always use Maytag blue cheese. The best part--this is a room temp dish, so can be made ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macomb, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I have to say I followed the recipe to the T and LOVED it. It was a great crowd pleaser (only 4 of us) and my guests even wanted to take what we had left over home for the next day, will absolutely make this again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
I had some grape tomatoes to use up and so I did a search for "pasta and tomatoes", and this wonderful recipe was amoungst my choices. I must I chose well. This was delicious!!!! Other than using chicken broth instead of veggie and using grape tomatoes instead of cherry tomatoes, made it as called for. My husband and I ate all of it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
This was great! I used chicken broth, upped the garlic and put fresh mozzerella on top! So so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
Very tasty. I made a few modifications. I used mozzerella instead or gorgonzola and sage, dill, and chives instead of basil. I also only used a quarter of an onion, which is good because the onion was STRONG. My housemates eyes are watering from the onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
so so delicious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Bow Ties with Sausage, Tomatoes and Cream

The perfect, satisfying pasta dish for busy weeknights.

Crispy Cucumbers and Tomatoes in Dill Dressing

Watch how to make this simple, tasty salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States