Orzo with Tomato and Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nashville Nosher
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
WOWZAS! I was so close to giving up on dinner because I couldn't find anything I wanted with the ingredients I had on hand...until I stumbled upon this beauty. I used less orzo (mainly because I didn't have enough) but another reviewer suggested it anyway and it worked out perfectly! I didn't have regular tomatoes, so I used some cherry tomatoes and I added some artichoke hearts for my normal reasons of "I had them and needed to use them." Delicious! I am looking forward to making this with fresh basil, but in a pinch, the dried works fine. The lemon really gives it a fresh punch of flavor and I can't WAIT for the leftovers today at lunch. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nashville Nosher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
This is very tasty. The only thing I'll do differently next time is brown the tofu first. The onion and garlic were way overcooked by the time the tofu was browned. This was my first tofu-cooking experience so I have a bit to learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hicksville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
It's very light, good for a summer meal. We all thought it was good, but it's not SUPER flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I substituted whole grain penne instead of orzo and whole grape tomatoes instead of chopped. It turned out delicious! I'm going to make this recipe again and try baking the tofu rather than frying to make it a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This was great! Even my 4 year old loved it. thanks so much! I used half the orzo and the whole pack of tufo just we are a tofu loving family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karlitas_way

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: North Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Yum! I made this with lemon pepper chicken because I didn't have tofu on hand, but had lots of tomatoes to use. It was good with or without feta and with more tomatoes if desired. My husband loved it and wouldn't stop talking about it for days. We'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
I made orzo for the first time last night, using this recipe, and it turned out quite well. I browned the tofu a bit (about 5 mins) before adding the onions, garlic, and two handfuls of mushrooms. I also added some red pepper flakes to give it a bit more flavor. Unfortunately, I completely forgot the veggie bouillon cube for the pasta -- I will have to try that next time as it was missing just a BIT of flavor. I think throwing in some greek olives with the feta would be delicious. By the way, tofu takes AT LEAST 15 minutes to brown on medium-high with all the veggies in there so it wouldn't be a terrible idea to throw the scallions & garlic in 10 minutes into browning the tofu as mine got pretty shriveled up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Simple and light and tasty. The only change I made was to use fresh basil instead of dried. Oh, and I fried the tofu before the onions to make sure I could get it nice and crispy without overcooking the veggies. This is a great quick meal to make after work. If you're not already a regular tofu eater, make sure you press the tofu before frying. Even better, if you have the time, press the tofu, cut into triangles, and then FREEZE it until the edges are frozen. Then take it out and immediately pop it into the hot pan with oil. Provides for a much meatier, chewier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dressagegrrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Added olives and sun dried tomatoes. Put the tofu over brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Delicious! I made it just as the recipe says, except I used canned diced tomatoes instead of fresh. It was a simple, tasty tofu dish. I definitely will add this to my rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States