Orzo with Tomato and Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
My husband and I loved this recipe. Neither of us are vegetarians, but we felt it was just as tasty and filling as any other recipe we would have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!! My sons (9 and 15) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This was awesome. My husband & I both loved it. I didn't measure any ingredients- just went by feel, but used everything except that I subsituted fresh majoran for the dried basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
When I told my husband I had made a tofu dish for dinner he looked at me with a funny face. He tried and said: "This is actually delicious!". I will definitely make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Badajoz, Extremadura, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Simple, healthy, and delicious. Tastes good without the feta as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is a great, easy recipe - very creative! Here are my suggestions: Use only one cup of orzo. For a nice texture, brown orzo to golden color in a tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat, then pour in water and boil it. Brown tofu first in oil, then add onions and garlic. I also added shredded carrot and a chopped squash that had been languishing in the fridge. Mushrooms would be good, too. Fresh basil kicks this into high gear (love it with the lemon!), and don't skip the lemon or feta - these two things make this recipe great! If you don't like/have feta, fresh Romano is good, too. Thanks for a wonderful, beautiful, healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Laughlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This recipe was absolutely delicious! As suggested, I added artichoke hearts and zucchini and used vegetable bullion while boiling the orzo. I still used fresh tomatoes, though. I've been looking for tasty vegetarian recipes and I was so pleased by the outcome of this one! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
My Husband and I are vegetarians for a month, so I decided to start cooking with tofu. This recipe is so wonderful for 1st timers! The orzo turned out al dente and the tofu fried up nicely. The blend of seasonings were simple but made a big impact. I will definately make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeway, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I have to agree with user that recommended browning the orzo before cooking. A very nutty flavor is evident after browning and is appealling to this recipe. Add anything your little heart desires as far as veggies go, a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This was so DELICIOUS, first off I used a veggie boulin cube to give the pasta more flavor. When the pasta was done boiling there was no more water left. The pasta soaked it up. Second you can really put any veggies you like with this recipe I just put squash but next time I will definitely put more in. Third I only used 10 oz of tofu since it was just my b/f and I and 1 cup of Orzo. It was a perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets in the nude
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States