Orzo with Tomato and Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is a great, easy recipe - very creative! Here are my suggestions: Use only one cup of orzo. For a nice texture, brown orzo to golden color in a tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat, then pour in water and boil it. Brown tofu first in oil, then add onions and garlic. I also added shredded carrot and a chopped squash that had been languishing in the fridge. Mushrooms would be good, too. Fresh basil kicks this into high gear (love it with the lemon!), and don't skip the lemon or feta - these two things make this recipe great! If you don't like/have feta, fresh Romano is good, too. Thanks for a wonderful, beautiful, healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Laughlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Looks like it would have been a 4, but with the changes I made, it was outstanding. Keep in mind I cut the recipe in half (other than the tofu) I added 2 cubes of veggie boullion to the water in which I boiled the orzo to add some flavor. I cooked the tofu, onion and garlic as directed, but also added zucchini and a jar of marinated artichoke hearts (chopped). Instead of tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes w/ garlic. After I stirred it all together, I mixed in about 1/3 cup of parmesan and then sprinkled the servings with feta and parm. It really was just fantastic, especially for a nice, healthy meal. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
As the recipe is written, very bland, probably good for young kids to introduce them to tofu...turn this into a 4 star recipe by adding, sundried tomatoes (chopped, stored in oil), black olives and some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Simple and light and tasty. The only change I made was to use fresh basil instead of dried. Oh, and I fried the tofu before the onions to make sure I could get it nice and crispy without overcooking the veggies. This is a great quick meal to make after work. If you're not already a regular tofu eater, make sure you press the tofu before frying. Even better, if you have the time, press the tofu, cut into triangles, and then FREEZE it until the edges are frozen. Then take it out and immediately pop it into the hot pan with oil. Provides for a much meatier, chewier texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dressagegrrrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
When I told my husband I had made a tofu dish for dinner he looked at me with a funny face. He tried and said: "This is actually delicious!". I will definitely make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Badajoz, Extremadura, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jim F
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Very good! I used whole wheat orzu for extra healthiness. I haven't cooked tofu in years, so I had a little trouble cooking it. At medium high, it took a long time (15 minutes) to brown, but when it did it was a little darker than I intended. Of course, maybe its because of my ancient electric stove. All in all, an excellent vegetarian dish! Cheese lovers may want to purchase extra feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
This was so DELICIOUS, first off I used a veggie boulin cube to give the pasta more flavor. When the pasta was done boiling there was no more water left. The pasta soaked it up. Second you can really put any veggies you like with this recipe I just put squash but next time I will definitely put more in. Third I only used 10 oz of tofu since it was just my b/f and I and 1 cup of Orzo. It was a perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets in the nude
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eric
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
It was a good starter dish, though you may want to add in olives or something salty to balance the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
My husband and I are trying to add tofu to our regular diets, and this dish was a perfect way to incorporate it. I read several of the reviews and took their suggestions, adding sun-dried tomatoes (instead of raw ones), black olives, fresh basil (instead of dried), and added a few mushrooms as well. I will definitely make this again!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Tofu takes about 15 minutes to brown properly, so cooking time is a bit off. Next time we'll add more feta, but otherwise, fantastic recipe. Light and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States