Orzo with Tomato and Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jim F
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
Very good! I used whole wheat orzu for extra healthiness. I haven't cooked tofu in years, so I had a little trouble cooking it. At medium high, it took a long time (15 minutes) to brown, but when it did it was a little darker than I intended. Of course, maybe its because of my ancient electric stove. All in all, an excellent vegetarian dish! Cheese lovers may want to purchase extra feta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Haven, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
My husband and I loved this recipe. Neither of us are vegetarians, but we felt it was just as tasty and filling as any other recipe we would have made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
EXCELLENT!!!!!!!! My sons (9 and 15) loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
My rating is based on two factors that may have fatally altered this recipe. One is that I am allergic to wheat, so Orzo was out of the question--I used Basmti rice instead. I think that, by itself, was an OK substitution, really. But then I actually had crumbled goat cheese in the fridge, but not feta (which should authentically be made wtih sheep's cheese), so I used the goat cheese. That was not the best choice--it was an overpowering flavor, even sprinkled lightly. We served the remainder from the Wok & did not sprinkle the cheese on top, and then it was decent--delicate tasty flavors. But, not a 5 star for sure, and even without the cheese it doesn't meet a 4 rating. 3+. My 3 year old liked the meal wtihout the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisandreasings

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
This was awesome. My husband & I both loved it. I didn't measure any ingredients- just went by feel, but used everything except that I subsituted fresh majoran for the dried basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
For originality, I would give this more than 3 stars. However, I found this a bit bland. My family and I thought it was pretty good, but I don't think I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This recipe was fairly easy to make. I followed the recipe pretty closely. I'm living in a different country, and could not find Orzo anywhere, so I substituted Risotto rice. I also almost doubled the amount of feta I used. The recipe was a little bland, but I have made it again since and like it for myself. It is not, however, something I would make for someone I was trying to impress.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Tofu takes about 15 minutes to brown properly, so cooking time is a bit off. Next time we'll add more feta, but otherwise, fantastic recipe. Light and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELANIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cocoa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
As the recipe is written, very bland, probably good for young kids to introduce them to tofu...turn this into a 4 star recipe by adding, sundried tomatoes (chopped, stored in oil), black olives and some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
Looks like it would have been a 4, but with the changes I made, it was outstanding. Keep in mind I cut the recipe in half (other than the tofu) I added 2 cubes of veggie boullion to the water in which I boiled the orzo to add some flavor. I cooked the tofu, onion and garlic as directed, but also added zucchini and a jar of marinated artichoke hearts (chopped). Instead of tomatoes I used a can of diced tomatoes w/ garlic. After I stirred it all together, I mixed in about 1/3 cup of parmesan and then sprinkled the servings with feta and parm. It really was just fantastic, especially for a nice, healthy meal. Thanks for the great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole Burdett

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Templeton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Stacked Tomato and Burrata Salad

Here’s the salad to make when summer tomatoes are at their peak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States