Orzo with Tomato and Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
My Husband and I are vegetarians for a month, so I decided to start cooking with tofu. This recipe is so wonderful for 1st timers! The orzo turned out al dente and the tofu fried up nicely. The blend of seasonings were simple but made a big impact. I will definately make this dish again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DCarb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lakeway, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Eric
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
It was a good starter dish, though you may want to add in olives or something salty to balance the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Temple City, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This recipe was absolutely delicious! As suggested, I added artichoke hearts and zucchini and used vegetable bullion while boiling the orzo. I still used fresh tomatoes, though. I've been looking for tasty vegetarian recipes and I was so pleased by the outcome of this one! YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
Good recipe, I changed it a bit. I used penne pasta instead of orzo and I added veggies to mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This was a great, easy dish that I made with a few changes. First, I used canned diced tomatoes instead of regular. I felt as if there was more juice to work with. Then, I used about a cup and 1/4 of pasta. There was still a lot - I could have gotten away with only using a cup. But I liked the flavors - didn't think it was bland like other people say. Just be sure to use lots of basil - it complements the flavors nicely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
This was really good after I made some adjustments :) I added in about 20-25 sliced olives and some crushed red pepper and it really kicked it up a notch :) I ate it for dinner and lunch the next day! Really tasty and not the typical tofu taste either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I had to substitute a hard, sharp cheese- parmesan (Feta is very expensive in Tokyo), but I found this recipe filling and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2007
This is a great, easy recipe - very creative! Here are my suggestions: Use only one cup of orzo. For a nice texture, brown orzo to golden color in a tablespoon of olive oil over medium heat, then pour in water and boil it. Brown tofu first in oil, then add onions and garlic. I also added shredded carrot and a chopped squash that had been languishing in the fridge. Mushrooms would be good, too. Fresh basil kicks this into high gear (love it with the lemon!), and don't skip the lemon or feta - these two things make this recipe great! If you don't like/have feta, fresh Romano is good, too. Thanks for a wonderful, beautiful, healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C Laughlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Simple, healthy, and delicious. Tastes good without the feta as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
When I told my husband I had made a tofu dish for dinner he looked at me with a funny face. He tried and said: "This is actually delicious!". I will definitely make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Badajoz, Extremadura, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fresh Cherry Tomato Relish

A fresh cherry tomato relish with garlic and a reduced vinaigrette.

Tomato Concassé

See a terrific tomato preparation for sauces, stews, soups, and chili.

How to Make a Cherry Tomato Rose

See how to carve a rose from a cherry tomato.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States