Orzo with Tomato and Fried Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This was my 2nd attempt to prepare tofu (the first was not all that exciting). I absiolutely LOVED this recipe! I used Jasmin rice in place of the orozo, added zucchini and mushrooms. Wow! What a great meal. The feta is definitely a MUST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I thought this recipe to be very versatile. I love the lemon & basil combo. I didn't have any orzo so I used Penne pasta. I added some shiitake mushrooms and fresh picked summer squash from the garden and topped it off with goat cheese. Even my 13 year old son enjoyed it. There were no leftovers! :) Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whispering Raven

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Just delicious, light olive oil flavor that blended well with the vegies. The only things I did different was use cherry tomatoes and saute mushrooms and zuchinni with the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
it didnt really work for me. i had to wing the recipe. turned out tasting ok if you add a lot of cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
It was ok, I followed the recipe exactly. Something about the flavor just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This recipe has been a staple in my household for about a year now. With a few modifications it really becomes a WOW recipe. First, a few tips on preparing the tofu. In order to give the tofu a chewier texture, press it first. This can be done by layering 2 paper towels on top of a dish, placing the tofu block on top of that, layering 2 more paper towels, another dish, and placing two cans on top. Press for about 30 minutes. Then cut your tofu and freeze for at least an hour. The result: chewy tofu with a "meaty" texture. I also like to add a little dried thyme, oregano, and red pepper (probably about a tsp each, but I eyeball it). When the tofu is almost finished browning, I like to add in an additional minced garlic clove. I heat the tomatoes for just a minute before mixing it all together. In addition to the dried basil in the recipe, I added in about 3 shredded fresh basil leaves. The final touch: a tablespoon of balsamic vinegar. With these additions this recipe has become a family favorite. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
This is really delicious and you can adapt it to what you have in your kitchen or what you like. I used penne rigate b/c that is what I had. I can never seem to find orzo. I really liked the texture that the pasta brought. I had red onion available, but I think you can use whatever you have and this will still turn out great! If you have fresh basil (I didn't), I think that we be the most delicious. I also had an avocado on hand. (I never have avocados, so it was a matter of chance.) I put some fresh avocado on the top with the feta cheese, and it was AWESOME! You really HAVE to have feta to know how awesome this tastes. When I make this again, I will make it just the same (the tofu was delicious), but I may use a different type of pasta. I will go out and hunt down an avocodo, though, because it was OUT OF THIS WORLD AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I love every ingredient in this recipe, but it just did not work for me. I also boiled my orzo in chicken broth to try to add flavor. The tofu and orzo didn't seem to go together well for some reason.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
i think this is a good base recipe. As is I found it kind of bland. I think maybe a light dressing (olive oil, white wine vinegar & lemon) would help give it more flavor. And next time I think I'll use half the orzo...just too much for me...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggiemom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bensalem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Used less orzo; next time I would dredge the tofu in a little four to make it crispier; fresh tomatoes were awesome. I also boiled the orzo in vegetable broth and water for more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Fresh Tomato and Basil Pizza

Make a simple homemade pizza with fresh basil and cherry tomatoes.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States