Orzo with Parmesan and Basil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This is one of the most perfect side dishes I have ever made. I do what the recipe states except I do not add any basil. While the orzo is cooking in the chicken broth I saute 8 oz of sliced mushrooms in olive oil, set aside in a bowl and then saute an entire bag, maybe 10 oz of baby spinach in olive oil for maybe 30 seconds and then when the orzo is done cooking I mix it altogether and add the parm cheese. I make this with any meat and it is always LOVED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
390 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Very good recipe with marvelous flavor. I did note that I needed a 1/2 can more of chicken broth to finish cooking the orzo. Served with Roasted Chicken and a Orange, Walnut, Gorgonzola and Mixed Greens Salad with Fresh Citrus Vinaigrette from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
313 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Hubby said, "Too much cheese"--yet cleaned his plate. I thought it was SO good, and wished he WOULD have left it on his plate so I could have ate it since I only made enough for two servings. Just delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
283 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
This is a yummy recipe! My husband was really impressed. However I had two concerns...it only took about 7 minutes before all the liquid was absorbed. Do not leave it unattended on the stove or it might scorch. Also, this must be served immediately or it gets very clumpy and hard to spoon out of the pan. I added a little olive oil and kept the heat on low and it helped this a bit. Overall this is a great side dish and a big hit with the family. I will cook it again soon. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
easy, pretty, and delicious! i used it as a side for salmon. I also added a chopped tomato and pine nuts after the broth was absorbed. I kept some extra chicken broth heated so that i could mix right before serving (the mix tends to dry out over time... so if you don't serve it right away, it is a good idea to have some extra broth on hand)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
I loved this recipe! I made a few changes, but I feel certain, that it would be delicious just as it is written. I used part butter and part olive oil and I sauted minced garlic with the orzo. I then added crushed red pepper flakes and a pinch of nutmeg and a good bit of parmesan cheese and ommited the basil. Yummy! I also think that for a really fast, but delicious side dish, I would made the recipe just as written, but instead of fresh basil, I would add a couple TBS of pesto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bay Springs, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Manning, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
Love, love LOVE this recipe!!! I'm so excited to have come across this one. It's such an easy recipe to prepare and the result is a restaurant quality dish that your family and friends will be impressed with. I used freshly grated parmesan cheese and fresh basil and it was heavenly! Such a fantastic flavor! It tasted so good that my husband thought it was complicated and that I'd spent a lot of time on it. So happy to report that wasn't the case! Simple, yet REALLY delicious!! What more could you ask for? Did I already say that I LOVE this recipe???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
I served this with Easy Focaccia from this website and a salad, and it was a perfect meal. The only things I added were about 1/2 cup sour cream and 1 cup shredded cheddar cheese, because we like the extra tang. I also sprinkled extra parmesan on top and dotted it with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Easy to prepare and a nice taste. I used a whole box of orzo which was about triple the recipe. I also used the buillion cubes/water instead of the canned broth and less cheese. I liked the taste and it went well with fish or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
I thought I bought fresh basil at the store this weekend, but somehow it didn't get home with us. So I sprinkled in dried basil instead. My husband really liked it, but I want to try it again with fresh basil. I used this as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Basil Chicken Over Angel Hair

Chicken breasts are simmered in a spicy tomato and basil sauce.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Parmesan

This easy Italian side dish is bursting with flavor and nutrients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States