Orzo with Mushrooms and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Super. Not for everyone howerver, Bu wasn't enthused. This recipe has a scent of bitter flavor and may not be something that kids or picky adults would go for. If you like walnuts then I'm sure you'll appreciate this. I used the exact ingredients it called for and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I'm into Toasted Orzo, so add the orzo just as onions and mushrooms are finishing, when orzo is lightly browned add the broth. When the broth is absorbed add 1/4 cup grated parmesan and serve! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Huff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2002
I made the recipe as written, and it made a ton. I will definitely cut the recipe in half next time. I'll also omit the walnuts. They did not compliment the dish at all and stood out oddly among the ingredients, texture and flavor-wise. Also, I'll turn the heat down while cooking the onions and mushrooms. The "medium-high" heat was a bit too hot and my dish ended up with a slightly scorched flavor because of it. With these adjustments, it will be a delicious side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I have made this a few times now, and keep tweaking it as I can't ever leave well enough alone. If I can find it, I use a package of mixed mushrooms (porcini, bella, oyster, etc) that I found in my grocery store. I also add some sauteed spinach, minced garlic and sherry to it, to give it some zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Evident that this would be flat in flavor if prepared exactly as written, I added white wine, minced garlic, and fresh thyme and parsley. I also used a specialty orzo and substituted pecans for the walnuts. All and all, this was an acceptable "supporting role" side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Very good recipe -- easy and impressive to make. The texture and flavor turned out a lot like risotto without a lot of stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I was extremely pleased with this recipe. My entire family enjoyed--even my 7 and 2 year old who are really picky. I may add a little bouillon next time to increase the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Thanks for the recipe...or atleast the guideline! Unfortunately I didn't have walnuts (they sounded like they would have been delicious in this recipe)...so I did some alterations to kick it up a bit! Added a stalk of celery with the onion and mushrooms, as well as 2 cloves of garlic and a 1/4 red pepper for color. When it was done, I found it a touch bland (wish I would have had those walnuts) so when I found some feta cheese in the fridge, decided to toss that in (about 1/4 cup)...that really did flavor it nicely! All in all, a nice dish (even with my alterations).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2005
I followed the recipe exactly and found this to be extremely bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OSHSCOTCH
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States