Orzo with Mushrooms and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
This is one of the best recipes I've ever got. My husband first cooked this for me on Valentine's day, and I was so impressed. Since then we've cooked this for our guests many times, and everyone raves about it. It's always their "favorite dish tonight". Just love the flavor of orzo, mushrooms, and toasted walnuts. Definitely cook the orzo with smaller flame to soak up the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
Right before I added the chicken broth - I added the orzo to the mushroom/onion saute' (with a TBLS butter) and let brown/cook for a few minutes. Therefore, I had NO problems with the orzo cooking - it came out good. Our only problem - we just couldn't get past the walnuts! We like them in plenty of baked goods but we just picked them out in this. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
I have made this several times as a side for many different dishes. It is always well received. I sometimes omit the walnuts. It is just as good without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2003
This dish is so good. It has a light flavor to it that will compliment any meat. I wasn't sure how the walnuts would taste but I was pleasantly surprised at the subtle flavor they gave and how well it worked in. I did have to add in more chicken broth than stated though as the orzo was still hard after the liquid had absorbed..no biggie. Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
My wife loves this recipe. It is a great side dish to impress your family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
Very good. Didn't change a thing and my guests loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2003
Great recipie! I put the toasted walnuts on the side for people to add themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
Made alot. Tasted pretty good. Everyone kept calling it the rice and mushroom dish. I'm still looking for a favorite though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
This is a very flavorful dish that I served for New Years Eve. Made it ahead of time, then warmed in oven. I cooked it for 20 min. initially instead of 15, and all the liquid was absorbed. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2002
We absolutely loved this!! I wouldn't change a thing. This recipe has been added to my collection of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOOKEC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States