Orzo with Mushrooms and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This was very yummy. I halved the recipe and left out the walnuts, husband doesn't like nuts in entrees. After sauteeing the mushrooms and onions, I added the orzo, sauteed a bit and then added the stock. There was still liquid after 15 minutes, but simmered with lid off for about 5 minutes and came out wonderfully. I might add some fresh garlic next time. Really good as leftovers the next day. Nice change from rice or potato side dishes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Great recipe! I reduced the oil to 1 Tbl. for lower fat. I think I would use only 1 onion next time - was a bit too oniony for me. Other than that, I would certainly recommend it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Moist and yummy but everyone was right about how much it makes. I halved the recipe and it still almost filled my dutch oven. Maybe half the recipe for 4-6 people. The walnuts are definately neccessary, though, would not have been as good without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
Great side dish for a meal! I did have to add some water to the orzo while cooking because it was still hard after it absorbed all of the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Valentines Day lunch for the boyfriend ~ He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
OH SO GOOD. Thanks for making a great addition to my Valentine dinner. Simple, yet extremely tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Very simple, fool proof it seems.. and yummy too gave me a lot of great ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WURGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
I replaced the walnuts with pine nuts, and it was scrumptious. We had this with braised lamb shanks (also found on this site), and the combination was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
This is one of the best recipes I've ever got. My husband first cooked this for me on Valentine's day, and I was so impressed. Since then we've cooked this for our guests many times, and everyone raves about it. It's always their "favorite dish tonight". Just love the flavor of orzo, mushrooms, and toasted walnuts. Definitely cook the orzo with smaller flame to soak up the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
Right before I added the chicken broth - I added the orzo to the mushroom/onion saute' (with a TBLS butter) and let brown/cook for a few minutes. Therefore, I had NO problems with the orzo cooking - it came out good. Our only problem - we just couldn't get past the walnuts! We like them in plenty of baked goods but we just picked them out in this. Thanks anyways!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States