Orzo with Mushrooms and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2004
I had never made Orzo before, but this was excellent. Served it with Champagne Chicken from this site and the two went well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2004
Super. Not for everyone howerver, Bu wasn't enthused. This recipe has a scent of bitter flavor and may not be something that kids or picky adults would go for. If you like walnuts then I'm sure you'll appreciate this. I used the exact ingredients it called for and it came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Krakow, Lesser Poland, Poland
Living In: Westchester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
This was very yummy. I halved the recipe and left out the walnuts, husband doesn't like nuts in entrees. After sauteeing the mushrooms and onions, I added the orzo, sauteed a bit and then added the stock. There was still liquid after 15 minutes, but simmered with lid off for about 5 minutes and came out wonderfully. I might add some fresh garlic next time. Really good as leftovers the next day. Nice change from rice or potato side dishes. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna K. Crossley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Winchester, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2004
Great recipe! I reduced the oil to 1 Tbl. for lower fat. I think I would use only 1 onion next time - was a bit too oniony for me. Other than that, I would certainly recommend it. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Moist and yummy but everyone was right about how much it makes. I halved the recipe and it still almost filled my dutch oven. Maybe half the recipe for 4-6 people. The walnuts are definately neccessary, though, would not have been as good without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
Great side dish for a meal! I did have to add some water to the orzo while cooking because it was still hard after it absorbed all of the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sicklerville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
Valentines Day lunch for the boyfriend ~ He loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
OH SO GOOD. Thanks for making a great addition to my Valentine dinner. Simple, yet extremely tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2004
Very simple, fool proof it seems.. and yummy too gave me a lot of great ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WURGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
I replaced the walnuts with pine nuts, and it was scrumptious. We had this with braised lamb shanks (also found on this site), and the combination was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Samet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States