Orzo with Mushrooms and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
Yum, that's all I can say. I didn't find white mushrooms, so I used portabella. Therefore the sauce was a little, shall we say, gray. But the flavor was awesome! It was a little too involved to cook on a regular basis, but I made it for our anniversary and we both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I didn't have any walnuts to add to this recipe, so to give it some more flavor I added a clove of fresh garlic, a 1/2 tsp of red hot pepper flakes, and added 1 pkg frozen chopped spinach at the very end. The recipe also calls for a lot of chicken broth, so instead, I used 1/2 broth and 1/2 water. With all the changes I made, the dish still came out very good as a side or a light main meal. Definetly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This was average; pretty bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
this tasted awsome I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holly, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
Wow! This was incredibly delicious and a keeper! Quick and easy to prepare. I prepared the walnuts and chopped onions and sliced mushrooms earlier in the day and then just prepared the dish 15 minutes before I was ready to eat. (I cut the recipe in half for just my husband and myself for Valentine's Day dinner). I served it with a Greek salad with homemade dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
My husband and I really liked this. I only made half and had some leftover. The best part is that you can add whatever you have to it. A few minutes before it was done, I added fresh broccoli and closed the lid, so it would steam. I also added some garlic to the onions and mushrooms. Next time, I will probably add more mushrooms, since they really simmered down, and I love mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
My boyfriend and I made this for V-Day and it came out great. We halved the recipe and served it as the main dish. I used porchini mushrooms, vegetable stock (to make it vegetarian), used toasted pine nuts, added some minced garlic, and added fresh parsley at the end. The dish was awesome but not too heavy and I plan on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by violetaria

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This was easy to make and had a good flavor. The walnuts especially were a great addition. I loved the texture and color. Don't skimp on the salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I made this recipe last night I cut the recipe in half and used baby bella mushrooms along with yellow onion. After 15 minutes cooking time there was still a lot of fluid in the pot so I removed the cover and continued to cook for about 8 more minutes and then served. My husband and I found it to be mushy even with the nuts and rather bland. I have not cooked orzo before and this may be the correct consistency for this pasta dish, however I would not make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
This is very good as a side dish or a meal! I used some green beans because I had a lot of extra.It added some color and it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States