Orzo with Mushrooms and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was a nice change for a side dish. I added celery to the veggie mixture. I forgot to add the walnuts and I'm sure it would be better with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Yummy. I always add chopped fresh herbs, a splash of sherry, chopped celery, roasted red pepper, grated parmesan, etc. (kind of whatever I have on hand.) This most recent time I tried it with quinoa instead of orzo, and it still worked well (and it MUCH healthier!) I will serve this to my clients with grilled chicken or salmon. Thanks for the recipe and the ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Made this twice. The first time I didn't roast the walnuts until they were aromatic and it was good but the 2nd time I forgot about the walnuts until I could smell them and I thought they were burned but... they were great! I also added spinach the 2nd time.. wow, made a great dish even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
I didn't have 1lb of mushrooms, so I used what I had. I also sauteed the onions and mushrooms in white wine before adding the broth. I used a low sodium broth, so initially my orzo didn't taste like much. I threw in 2 cloves of pressed garlic, a dash of garlic powder, and some freshly shredded parmesan cheese and it turned out GREAT! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by envi19

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Really really good!! I halved the recipe and I thought it still seemed like a LOT of muchrooms but it was perfect. Like someone else, I added some spinach (fresh) and it was very pretty and tasty. My kids were not thrilled that it had mushroooms but one bite and they all happily ate it. By the way, I used whole wheat orzo, since it is healthier than normal orzo and it tasted great. There was no "you tried to make this healthy" regret! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
Very good! I personally felt the chicken broth flavor was too prominant--then again, I used a Chinese chicken broth, so its a bit different? Orzo is good--makes me want to find more recipes with orzo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Roxbury, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
comes out sticky. bake it for 20 minutes after making it by recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I forgot to add the walnuts. This was still really good. It would make a nice side for a dinner party. I thought it would be too salty with the chicken broth, but it wasn't. I think the walnuts would be good and make it even more gourmet, had I remembered them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
I modified the amount of ingredients, but this is a great combo no matter how you slice it. My family enjoys this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bayside, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
I made this for company as a side dish and it was really good, but if I make it again, I would add garlic to the onions and mushrooms and definitely more walnuts. The 1/3 cup did not make much of a difference because this recipe makes a large amount. I would love to add chicken to this and make it a meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States