Orzo with Mushrooms and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
I made this dish as a main course and it was good but it definitely would benefit from a salad or something on the side to balance it out. Overall I liked the flavor and will make it again, but probably more as a side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
with 2 cloves of garlic and celery. The roasted peacans/walnuts are worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
This was really easy to make and the result was delicious, as someone already mentioned, the texture is similar to risotto. I used zucchinis instead of mushrooms and it was still delicious. It makes a nice variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I made this for a lunch for 40 people. It doesn't look very tasty, but I thought it was pretty good. A lot of people were not sure exactly what it was. I served it with Anniversary Chicken and green beans. Most of the adults ate all of it. The children didn't eat as much. I didn't think it was bland as others have said. It is an understated side dish that compliments a richer main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
Evident that this would be flat in flavor if prepared exactly as written, I added white wine, minced garlic, and fresh thyme and parsley. I also used a specialty orzo and substituted pecans for the walnuts. All and all, this was an acceptable "supporting role" side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This is a real crowd pleaser, I took the advice of some other reviewers and added frozen chopped spinach and fresh garlic. I took it to a family dinner, and there were no left overs and everyone asked for the recipe. I also made it with chopped artichokes and that was also delicious. There are so many things you can do with this recipe. I will definately make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
I tried this once with walnuts and once with pecans. The pecans made it even better. Definitey a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Greve, Sjælland, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
So delicious!! I added 2 cloves garlic (simmered with the onion) and I think the flavor it added was key. I also added 10 oz frozen (fresh) spinach leaves. Be sure to toast your walnuts before using; a few minutes in a pan on the stovetop works just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
This was a nice change for a side dish. I added celery to the veggie mixture. I forgot to add the walnuts and I'm sure it would be better with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
Yummy. I always add chopped fresh herbs, a splash of sherry, chopped celery, roasted red pepper, grated parmesan, etc. (kind of whatever I have on hand.) This most recent time I tried it with quinoa instead of orzo, and it still worked well (and it MUCH healthier!) I will serve this to my clients with grilled chicken or salmon. Thanks for the recipe and the ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States