Orzo with Mushrooms and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Now this was fun, and if there were a way to do 4 1/2 stars, that's what I'd give it. It does make a lot, but was well-received. Next time I make it, I think I will add some lemon zest. This would best be served with a spicy, full-flavored meat or other entree, since there is no one flavor that stands out in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Hummelstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
had to cook longer than instructed to get rid of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by benbest
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
Loved the nutty crunch of the walnuts. I'm not an experienced cook, but this was easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
This is a great base recipe that can be customized to your own taste. To add a little more flavor, I added a little garlic, fresh sage, and crumbled blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I loved this recipe! I used organic mushroom broth instead of chicken, organic wheat orzo, and shitake mushroom. Would be a proud Accompaniment to a special dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Evans, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
I am only giving this 4 stars because of how much I added to the recipe - I can't really comment on how it would be as directed. After reading other reviews, I added chicken sausage, garlic and kale. I also kept out the walnuts and I reduced the orzo to 1 cup. Here is what I did it and it was a big hit ... I caramelized the onions and garlic in a large stainless steal covered pan. I then added a 12 oz package of spinach and garlic chicken sausage from my local grocery store until browned. In went the mushrooms (about 3/4 lb) and I also added a small amount of kale cut in small pieces. I added 1/2 cup cooking sherry and boiled all of that down until kale and mushrooms were tender. I then added 2C broth and 1C orzo. I ended up needing about another 1/2 -3/4 cup broth to finish the orzo - but it might have been due to the heat being too high on the stove. This was our main dish, served with some rustic bread - it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
My husband and I LOVE this dish. He is a vegetarian and I do add chopped fresh baby spinach and Feta cheese sprinkled on at the end. I half the orzo/broth for the two of us and it is the perfect amount. Great texture and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
This orzo is excellent - easy yet elegant. It can be a tad bland though, so I was heavy-handed with the salt, and also added garlic powder and parsley. I over-toasted the walnuts by mistake (about 15 minutes) and they were actually wonderfully crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I LOVE orzo and this one was pretty good but not one that stood out (as i have made several orzo recipes from AR) Followed the recipe exactly. I sprinkled the top with walnuts instead of tossing together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
This was okay, but not a favorite for my family. I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Salisbury Steak with Mushrooms

Watch how to make a classic Salisbury steak dinner.

Turkey Lettuce Wraps with Shiitake Mushrooms

Watch how to make this versatile recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States