Orzo with Mushrooms and Walnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
3.5 stars. My modifications: 1) I used just enough oil to coat the pan, a tablespoon or so. 2) I omitted walnuts since I wasn't sure how well it would match with the other ingredients. 3) I added half a bag of chopped spinach for more veggie content. It went well with seared tuna steaks, but it was a little rich for me. Next time I would use half broth and half water, and add pine nuts if I have them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
My first comment is that unless you are serving a really big group you should scale this recipe in half. I scaled in half, served 6 and had plenty left over. Otherwise, I followed the recipe as written accept I added the orzo to the onions and mushrooms after they had cooked a while so that the orzo could get a little toasted before adding the broth. I also added some minced garlic at this point and reduced the amount of mushrooms. Just before serving I stirred in about 1/4 cup shredded parmesan and topped with the walnuts. With these changes it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
This recipe was fantastic! I did make a few changes, per my own tastes and the suggestions of others. I used portabella mushrooms, thinly sliced, garlic, basil and no-chicken broth for vegetarian reasons. I also toasted the orzo before setting it to simmer. Came out great, and was very flavorful. I will defiantly cook this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Gwynne Kloch
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2006
I made the recipe as directed and love it - it's flavourful enough and one ought not to be surprised from the ingredients list that it doesn't kick or pop or anything. Makes a wonderful side dish or even an entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2006
Very good recipe -- easy and impressive to make. The texture and flavor turned out a lot like risotto without a lot of stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I'm into Toasted Orzo, so add the orzo just as onions and mushrooms are finishing, when orzo is lightly browned add the broth. When the broth is absorbed add 1/4 cup grated parmesan and serve! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Huff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Great texture, makes an ample amount...but very bland in taste. It was very edible, but just not memorable or something that we will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I was extremely pleased with this recipe. My entire family enjoyed--even my 7 and 2 year old who are really picky. I may add a little bouillon next time to increase the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OSHSCOTCH
Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I have made this a few times now, and keep tweaking it as I can't ever leave well enough alone. If I can find it, I use a package of mixed mushrooms (porcini, bella, oyster, etc) that I found in my grocery store. I also add some sauteed spinach, minced garlic and sherry to it, to give it some zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Ricotta Gnocchi with Fresh Peas and Mushrooms

See how to make wonderfully light ricotta gnocchi with peas and mushrooms.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Superb Sauteed Mushrooms

Mushrooms sauteed with red wine, teriyaki sauce and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States