Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
The flavors were delicious. If i make it again I would put a little chicken stock with the kale and garlic while it is cooking. My garlic burned and the kale was not soft and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Quiet, mellow flavors. Perfectly understated, just as I like it, just as I wanted it. Well balanced combination of the flavors, and I particularly liked the additions of nutmeg and lemon juice, which I didn't measure, just added to taste, probably less than what was called for. The turmeric gives the orzo a brilliant yellow color which, in combination with the green kale (I used arugula because I grow it), gave this a striking appearance. (Note to self: this might make a great dish for a Green Bay Packers party with its vivid colors of green and gold!) Other than seasoning to taste rather than adhering strictly to the given measurements, I wouldn't change this recipe at all and have absolutely no criticism. It's lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I have never had kale before and I got a bunch in my bountiful basket this weekend. I found this and we LOVE orzo so I thought I would give it a try. Not sure why you need the turmeric other than it makes your orzo a pretty color. This makes a HUGE side dish. I normally only make half a pound, but I wanted to follow the recipe. Make sure you stem the Kale- it doesn't get soft and I was glad I did a good job on all but one leaf. Kale is not bad, but I think the lemon juice and parm is a little on the light side for this much orzo. I also found my kale starting to burn with no water just the evoo to cook it in and my garlic was clearly on the brown side. If I did this again I would cook my garlic then add a little water or stock to steam my kale instead of cooking it in the oil. Some of the pieces got really crispy. Thanks for sharing overall it was good I would just make a few minor changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is one of those recipes where you really wish there was a 10 star rating option. We absolutely loved this. The flavors are amazing. I added some halved cherry tomatoes right before serving. Thank you so much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
DELISH! i took the suggestions of adding beans and cherry tomatoes and it makes the dish more filling for a main course. I also added red pepper flakes to the oil and garlic before adding the kale and it gave it a lovely kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Love this recipe. I boiled 1 cup water add chicken bouillon cube and then added chopped kale to water to let it simmer until it softens. Meanwhile, I sauteed mushrooms, carrots, red pepper and onion and added garlic, crushed red pepper, nutmeg and lemon juice, seasoning salt and cumin. Cumin and lemon juice are excellent together. Drain kale and mix w/veggies and orzo. Fabulous. I used only one cup orzo and it made 4 lunch sized meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
this was really quite lovely. I added some white beans and pine nuts, and later when I had leftovers I added some sauteed mushrooms. actually used the full amount of kale for half the orzo by accident, but it worked out fine. nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I thought two cups of orzo to be a bit much, so I cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I added diced tomatoes and extra parmesan. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I really like the way the flavors combine in this dish--unusual and tasty. The lemon brightens everything nicely. Also, the turmeric gives the pasta a nice color. I added some of the white wine I was planning to drink to the kale while it cooked for more continuity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States