Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
I really like the way the flavors combine in this dish--unusual and tasty. The lemon brightens everything nicely. Also, the turmeric gives the pasta a nice color. I added some of the white wine I was planning to drink to the kale while it cooked for more continuity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
this was really quite lovely. I added some white beans and pine nuts, and later when I had leftovers I added some sauteed mushrooms. actually used the full amount of kale for half the orzo by accident, but it worked out fine. nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2009
This is one of those recipes where you really wish there was a 10 star rating option. We absolutely loved this. The flavors are amazing. I added some halved cherry tomatoes right before serving. Thank you so much! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This was really simple and great tasting, and a good way to get kids to eat their greens!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Salvatore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bethel, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Wow, I had no idea this would be as good as it was. My family really enjoyed it. I was surprised at what a great combination these flavors were. I made no special adjustments, but made this exactly as described. Made a LOT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casedilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. Rich varied flavor with two of my favorite under-used ingrediants. I served with steak and peppers. Will try it with fish next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
so easy, nutritious, and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
It tastes like kale, lol but be ready for the slightly bitter, spinach-like taste. Great texture. Do add tomatoes after cooking, or some tofu, or some veggie sausage, or beans...for protein. Just stir them in the bowl at the end. Very good for you no doubt and a good balance of flavours. Might try rice in place of orzo. No modifications req'd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was nice, but not great. I had to add lots of salt and pepper to get a good flavor. But, very healthy and pretty! It probably would be better with the additions other reviewers recommended (beans, tomatoes, etc). Has a lot of potential for experimentation though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My husband and I both liked this dish a lot. I had never cooked with turmeric before but it had a great flavor. There are a great mix some great bold flavors in this dish. It was a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States