Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
DELISH! i took the suggestions of adding beans and cherry tomatoes and it makes the dish more filling for a main course. I also added red pepper flakes to the oil and garlic before adding the kale and it gave it a lovely kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I really wanted to just love this. I had organic kale from the garden and I always need a healthy side dish. Cooking the orzo with turmeric added a kind of bitterness to the pasta. The kale, even with 20 minutes of sauteing did not soften it enough, and it was pretty chewy. I might mess around with this one a little and perhaps use the recipe withou the turmeric, adding a little lemon juice to the pasta and some extra parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
The flavors were delicious. If i make it again I would put a little chicken stock with the kale and garlic while it is cooking. My garlic burned and the kale was not soft and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Great healthy side dish. I used low sodium chicken broth in place of the water. Next time I will probably add more garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I'm sorry, but nobody really liked this dish. I followed the recipe exactly. I think the kale overwhelmed the orzo and its texture was unappealing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
My husband and I both liked this dish a lot. I had never cooked with turmeric before but it had a great flavor. There are a great mix some great bold flavors in this dish. It was a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was nice, but not great. I had to add lots of salt and pepper to get a good flavor. But, very healthy and pretty! It probably would be better with the additions other reviewers recommended (beans, tomatoes, etc). Has a lot of potential for experimentation though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2009
It tastes like kale, lol but be ready for the slightly bitter, spinach-like taste. Great texture. Do add tomatoes after cooking, or some tofu, or some veggie sausage, or beans...for protein. Just stir them in the bowl at the end. Very good for you no doubt and a good balance of flavours. Might try rice in place of orzo. No modifications req'd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alarose

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
so easy, nutritious, and absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I really enjoyed this recipe. Rich varied flavor with two of my favorite under-used ingrediants. I served with steak and peppers. Will try it with fish next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States