Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This recipe was very good. I cooked it with brown rice instead of orzo and my whole family loved it. Tastes great with yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I'm giving it a 5 star even though I forgot the cheese so Im not sure how it is with that. However, it still tastes good without the cheese. I also suggest adding cherry tomatoes but they are not needed. My partner even went back for more. If I changed anything I would add the kale sooner to the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
so so so good. I will definitely make this again! I left out the nutmeg - as i didn't have any adding paprika instead. I also added a bit more parmesan - my boy and I both LOVE cheese. It was perfect as a side dish with a roasted pork loin as well as for our impromptu picnic the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I have never had kale before and I got a bunch in my bountiful basket this weekend. I found this and we LOVE orzo so I thought I would give it a try. Not sure why you need the turmeric other than it makes your orzo a pretty color. This makes a HUGE side dish. I normally only make half a pound, but I wanted to follow the recipe. Make sure you stem the Kale- it doesn't get soft and I was glad I did a good job on all but one leaf. Kale is not bad, but I think the lemon juice and parm is a little on the light side for this much orzo. I also found my kale starting to burn with no water just the evoo to cook it in and my garlic was clearly on the brown side. If I did this again I would cook my garlic then add a little water or stock to steam my kale instead of cooking it in the oil. Some of the pieces got really crispy. Thanks for sharing overall it was good I would just make a few minor changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
It was very good and light on its own. I would add more kale at the very least. I also added cherry tomatoes and asparagus to this recipe and it adds alot to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was good but not great. I followed the recipe exactly, but I ended up going back and adding more lemon and more cheese. I also has some trouble with the kale - it burned a bit and I kept having to add more oil. Worth making again, but it needs some adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I thought this was delicious. Lose the turmeric, add some red pepper flakes. A ten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was exceptionally good. My nine-year-old daughter even enjoyed it! The only suggestion I have is double the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Love this recipe. I've made it for 3 events recently and have made it for myself at least 3 times. Easy to put together and delicious side dish. The most important component of this meal is to make sure the kale/garlic doesn't burn. I find that the time indicated for wilting the kale is too long on my stove. It only takes me a few minutes to wilt the kale -- so be sure to keep an eye on this. I continually get rave reviews (including the one time I burned the kale) for this dish from family and friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
This was very yummy. I was surprised. I may try adding some more veggies like the other reviewers have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States