Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made some adjustments as suggested from previous reviews and turned this into a main course meal. It was fabulous! I added a chopped red pepper to garlic saute. I added 1 cup of white wine when I added the kale along with 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. And at the last 10 minutes of cooking I added a can of rinsed and drained white beans. Excellent with these additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSICO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Tasty dish Sunaina, believe I'll check out another of your recipes, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilroy, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Love this recipe. I boiled 1 cup water add chicken bouillon cube and then added chopped kale to water to let it simmer until it softens. Meanwhile, I sauteed mushrooms, carrots, red pepper and onion and added garlic, crushed red pepper, nutmeg and lemon juice, seasoning salt and cumin. Cumin and lemon juice are excellent together. Drain kale and mix w/veggies and orzo. Fabulous. I used only one cup orzo and it made 4 lunch sized meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
this was okay. the kale i used was a little bitter. it would of been better if the kale wasn't so bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was amazing! I made some modifications. I added carrots, onions, and black beans to the mix to make it more of a main dish instead of a side dish. I also steamed the kale in vegetable broth and for about half as long as the recipe calls for because I like my greens a little crispy. I will definitely be making this again. The parmesan cheese pulls it all together very nicely. Thank you so much for sharing this with us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lellybug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I thought two cups of orzo to be a bit much, so I cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this as a hot dish with brown rice instead of orzo. I didn't use nutmeg because my husband dislikes it, and I added halved cherry tomatoes. It was very good. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by don'tcookfromnobook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I made this completely by the recipe. Loved it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I followed the recipe and found this dish to be a little bland. Would try to dress it up with a little more garlic, maybe some white wine and tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I took everyone's suggestions and diced up some tomatoes and cooked them with the kale, garlic, and chicken stock at the end. I also baked some tofu and stirred it in at the end. The parmesan really made this dish I think. I didn't really measure the lemon or the nutmeg so I think I put in more than it called for but it was really good and filling and it used up my kale from the farmers market. The turmeric didn't make the orzo bitter at all. It was really good. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keloucks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States