Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
Liked this, but think it would be better to cook orzo in just enough liquid to be completely absorbed. Might try chicken or veg broth with 1/2 the turmeric called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irmo, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Great - I blanched the kale before sauting it. Plus I added more parmesan and lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
This was a great inspiration to use all that kale in my garden - but I went the shortcut route. Brought chicken broth to a boil, added a few dashes of hot sauce and some salt and pepper (I used homemade chicken broth, if I used canned I would not add salt) chopped kale, cooked about 10 minutes, adding water as necessary then added the orzo. Big hit at a dinner party with grill shrimp on to Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Harbor, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Family loved this, especially our picky daughter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
Wow! Definitely a recipe I will be making more often. One suggestion I'd like to make is to be careful when you strain the orzo that has been boiling in the turmeric because it stains pretty easily, other than that, the whole family loved this recipe especially my 3 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alice
Reviewed: May 26, 2011
As mentioned previously, this seemed to need a bit more, so I added a chopped medium-size tomato near the end of the sauteed kale, which I did in chicken broth not oil, with minced garlic and pearl onion. I also put the turmeric in near the end of the saute, then added the orzo to that pan and let it finish cooking with the black pepper there, adding parmesan at the very end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Avipescetarian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Prepared as written. 5 stars because my almost 5 year old and my 6.5 year old liked it! First time preparing kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I made some adjustments as suggested from previous reviews and turned this into a main course meal. It was fabulous! I added a chopped red pepper to garlic saute. I added 1 cup of white wine when I added the kale along with 1/4 teaspoon of red pepper flakes. And at the last 10 minutes of cooking I added a can of rinsed and drained white beans. Excellent with these additions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSICO

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Tasty dish Sunaina, believe I'll check out another of your recipes, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gilroy, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Love this recipe. I boiled 1 cup water add chicken bouillon cube and then added chopped kale to water to let it simmer until it softens. Meanwhile, I sauteed mushrooms, carrots, red pepper and onion and added garlic, crushed red pepper, nutmeg and lemon juice, seasoning salt and cumin. Cumin and lemon juice are excellent together. Drain kale and mix w/veggies and orzo. Fabulous. I used only one cup orzo and it made 4 lunch sized meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by morgy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States