Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 15, 2012
My 3 year old loves this! I made a couple of alterations for health and taste reasons - I use 1 cup whole wheat orzo with 1 cup regular, cooking the whole wheat 1 full minute before adding the regular, then keeping the time stated. I also use chicken broth to cook the kale, just enough to keep it from sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I really liked this recipe, the flavor was mild. I think too mild for me. I will kick it up a notch next time cutting down on the orzo, so the flavor will be stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I love kale & was used to eating it overcooked for years. That is how most people ate it. Since, I now know how much of the nutrients are destroyed by cooking too much, I learned to eat kale in a more chewy state & still enjoy it, especially w/garlic. Also, I know turmeric is very good for you, but have yet to taste it. I am looking forward to making this dish very soon. It should be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
i loved this! i did not have any turmeric but otherwise followed the recipe. the nutmeg was fun addition and i added...diced carrots,cherry tomatoes, onion,mushrooms and red pepper and also added feta cheese when it was cool. This will be a great recipe to have this summer with all the kale i'm hoping to grow:)...planning on making this for easter next sunday too! thank you so much for the great recipe Sunaina:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by NIKKIESIMAGE
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This is a great recipe - the yellow orzo is beautiful. I thought the pasta-to-veg ratio was a little skewed to the pasta-side for my own taste. The second time I made it I used only half the orzo and added some halved grape tomatoes and toasted pine nuts. The splash of red made for a very colourful side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKIESIMAGE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was so tasty! I love the consistency of orzo with the kale. I realized after starting, I didn't have a lemon so I left that out. Also, I was worried the kale would burn so I added about 1/2cup vegetable stock to it. This was delicious! I will be making again, next time I will be sure to have the lemon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Used a whole bunch of kale and steamed for 5 mins first-put garlic in large skillet w evoo-sauteed 2 minutes-added the kale, 1/4 c each white wine and chix stock-stirred in 1 can petite diced tomatoes-heat on medium low about 10 minutes then stir in cooked orzo to heat through-excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Very good! Added a little cumin... steamed kale and garlic before adding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I don't like Kale but my boyfriend makes me eat it because it is good for me. So I was happy to find this recipe that combines orzo (which I love) with kale. I followed some of the suggestions given by others. I cooked the orzo the way we always cook orzo, cooked the kale the way we always cook kale, then combined them with the turmeric, lemon juice, nutmeg and parmesan cheese as a last step. We normally cook orzo by cooking minced garlic in oil for a few seconds until fragrant, then we put the dry orzo in and toast the orzo for a few short minutes. We also add some chili flakes, which some other suggested as well. Then we add slightly more chicken broth than orzo and bring to boil then lower the heat and cook covered until the broth is absorbed and the orzo is soft. As for the kale, we cook garlic in oil until fragrant, add a half cup broth, then bring to boil. Once boiling we add the kale and heat until the kale is wilted and the liquid is absorbed. The dish was good when I followed those steps and we both enjoyed the combination. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is a winner. The texture of the orzo works so well with the kale. I left out the tumeric and the nutmeg and added red pepper flakes. I steamed the kale before adding it to the garlic and oil. I probably added a little more parm than called for, but it was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Lackey-Rudin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States