Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
This was SO GOOD! I sauteed garlic and onion and then braised the kale with chicken stock until it was soft. The other thing I did that was a little different was to melt butter & olive oil in a sauce pan, add tumeric and orzo and saute the orzo for a few minutes before adding chicken stock heated to boiling. I'm happy I made enough for lunch tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
I liked this, but the Parmesan flavor was a bit over-whelming for me. I think next time I will omit the cheese and adjust the seasoning. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
As followed, not crazy for this. Will add some white beans, toasted nuts, and tomatoes to the remaining dish as others suggested & see if I like it any better...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by alien_autopsy
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I did not have orzo noodles available, so I used brown rice. I added yellow peppers and tomatoe slices to make the meal more healthy. It was delicious. My mum and dad loved it! I will cook this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I think I just don't like kale...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
I love this recipe! The tumeric is a nice subtle taste and the color is fantastic. I have made this several times and will continue. One thing we've added as a standard is sun dried tomatoes. Also for leftovers, I heat it and then add fresh tomatoes and/or avocado.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Sorry, not wowed. Kind of bland. Pretty color, though. If I make it again I'll add more veggies like the one in the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2012
My 3 year old loves this! I made a couple of alterations for health and taste reasons - I use 1 cup whole wheat orzo with 1 cup regular, cooking the whole wheat 1 full minute before adding the regular, then keeping the time stated. I also use chicken broth to cook the kale, just enough to keep it from sticking to the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I really liked this recipe, the flavor was mild. I think too mild for me. I will kick it up a notch next time cutting down on the orzo, so the flavor will be stronger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I love kale & was used to eating it overcooked for years. That is how most people ate it. Since, I now know how much of the nutrients are destroyed by cooking too much, I learned to eat kale in a more chewy state & still enjoy it, especially w/garlic. Also, I know turmeric is very good for you, but have yet to taste it. I am looking forward to making this dish very soon. It should be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States