Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I really wanted to like this recipe. The kale and garlic seemed to burn.I will try again...but next time will blanch the kale then fry it on a lower temperature and for a shorter period of time. I did end up putting some feta cheese on top before serving to take away the burnt taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I honestly didn't like this at all. I added Sriracha to cover up the flavor. I followed the directions and added cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Agree with some of the other reviews. It could have used some broth or water to help cook the kale. Mine was still a little tough, and I stopped it from cooking earlier than suggested because it was burning and drying out. Enjoyed the touch of flavor from the turmeric and nutmeg. Adding a little chicken broth would have blended nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Delicious!! I also added white beans and when served, added a couple cut/halved cherry tomatoes. Very very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanette60621

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
It seemed dry and without much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was okay. First time I ever used turmeric in my cooking and it added an unique flavor to the orzo. Wanted a different way to eat kale instead of eating it plain in a salad. This was a fun change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made it and then added a touch of red pepper flakes for a little punch. Incredible. All four kids ate it with gusto, all adults devoured. Cannot say enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JYHICKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have been making this recipe for a few years now- I can't believe I am just now reviewing it! Thngs I have learned from trial and error: When made as written, my kale always burns. After 3 attempts and always having gross, burnt kale, I simply learned to trust my gut and experience (I should have known better) to cook the kale on a lower setting than called for, and only until it's at my desired doneness. This is usually a lot less cooking time. Also, I feel like the amount of lemon juice in this recipe is just a bit too much, so I reduce it by about half. This recipe yields A LOT. so much so, that it can be a whole meal if I use whole grain pasta. But as a side, I usually cut the recipe in half (but often keep the kale at a full bunch, or I double the kale if I'm making the full recipe). Play around with this one and find what works for you. It's not perfect as-written, but it's good enough that I keep coming back to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I have made this several times. I always add more garlic and double the BABY kale stems and all. The baby kale stems are finer and cook well. At the end, I add toasted pine nuts.. WE love it and is so easy and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Diaz-Cortez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States