Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
very good, i didn't have kale so I subbed in spinach and it was excellent. I also added some red onion and black eye peas for protein, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillyann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was just ok, and only after I added some tomatoes and bacon bits. Maybe next time I'll try it with some chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This recipe was very good. I cooked it with brown rice instead of orzo and my whole family loved it. Tastes great with yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Starnes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
I'm giving it a 5 star even though I forgot the cheese so Im not sure how it is with that. However, it still tastes good without the cheese. I also suggest adding cherry tomatoes but they are not needed. My partner even went back for more. If I changed anything I would add the kale sooner to the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
so so so good. I will definitely make this again! I left out the nutmeg - as i didn't have any adding paprika instead. I also added a bit more parmesan - my boy and I both LOVE cheese. It was perfect as a side dish with a roasted pork loin as well as for our impromptu picnic the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I have never had kale before and I got a bunch in my bountiful basket this weekend. I found this and we LOVE orzo so I thought I would give it a try. Not sure why you need the turmeric other than it makes your orzo a pretty color. This makes a HUGE side dish. I normally only make half a pound, but I wanted to follow the recipe. Make sure you stem the Kale- it doesn't get soft and I was glad I did a good job on all but one leaf. Kale is not bad, but I think the lemon juice and parm is a little on the light side for this much orzo. I also found my kale starting to burn with no water just the evoo to cook it in and my garlic was clearly on the brown side. If I did this again I would cook my garlic then add a little water or stock to steam my kale instead of cooking it in the oil. Some of the pieces got really crispy. Thanks for sharing overall it was good I would just make a few minor changes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
It was very good and light on its own. I would add more kale at the very least. I also added cherry tomatoes and asparagus to this recipe and it adds alot to the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This was good but not great. I followed the recipe exactly, but I ended up going back and adding more lemon and more cheese. I also has some trouble with the kale - it burned a bit and I kept having to add more oil. Worth making again, but it needs some adjustment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I thought this was delicious. Lose the turmeric, add some red pepper flakes. A ten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was exceptionally good. My nine-year-old daughter even enjoyed it! The only suggestion I have is double the kale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States