Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Delicious! As a vegan I omitted the parmesan and even without it this dish is a winner. I also tried making it with cous cous and it was good too. Thanks for this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I love the contrasting textures - the crispy fried garlic and kale with the smooth, soft orzo. The lemon gives it a surprising brightness, and its just the perfect light summer dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
We loved this! It was light and tasty and just fantastic. I did add Cannelini beans and halved cherry tomatoes to make it a main meal but it would have been great without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I agree with cooking the kale with some extra dry sherry or chicken broth. I also turned the heat down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
The flavors did not mesh well together. Like other reviewers mentioned, there was not enough liquid in cooking the kale and garlic, so the garlic burned and kale was tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
it was ok but not that great. the orzo is way too much for that amount of kale. halve it(the orzo) and i think it is better. also needs something additional, maybe tomatoes, mushrooms or a legume. also, when cooking the kale it will overcook in just that olive oil. my garlic was brown/crispy and the kale not tender. i don't usually saute my kale that long(20min!) and it might have been better had i of followed all the other recipes i've used before with kale and that method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
Quiet, mellow flavors. Perfectly understated, just as I like it, just as I wanted it. Well balanced combination of the flavors, and I particularly liked the additions of nutmeg and lemon juice, which I didn't measure, just added to taste, probably less than what was called for. The turmeric gives the orzo a brilliant yellow color which, in combination with the green kale (I used arugula because I grow it), gave this a striking appearance. (Note to self: this might make a great dish for a Green Bay Packers party with its vivid colors of green and gold!) Other than seasoning to taste rather than adhering strictly to the given measurements, I wouldn't change this recipe at all and have absolutely no criticism. It's lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
very good, i didn't have kale so I subbed in spinach and it was excellent. I also added some red onion and black eye peas for protein, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillyann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Antioch, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was just ok, and only after I added some tomatoes and bacon bits. Maybe next time I'll try it with some chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This recipe was very good. I cooked it with brown rice instead of orzo and my whole family loved it. Tastes great with yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States