Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
this was okay. the kale i used was a little bitter. it would of been better if the kale wasn't so bitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was amazing! I made some modifications. I added carrots, onions, and black beans to the mix to make it more of a main dish instead of a side dish. I also steamed the kale in vegetable broth and for about half as long as the recipe calls for because I like my greens a little crispy. I will definitely be making this again. The parmesan cheese pulls it all together very nicely. Thank you so much for sharing this with us!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lellybug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I thought two cups of orzo to be a bit much, so I cut it in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I made this as a hot dish with brown rice instead of orzo. I didn't use nutmeg because my husband dislikes it, and I added halved cherry tomatoes. It was very good. I'll be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by don'tcookfromnobook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gulf Shores, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I made this completely by the recipe. Loved it and will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I followed the recipe and found this dish to be a little bland. Would try to dress it up with a little more garlic, maybe some white wine and tomatoes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I took everyone's suggestions and diced up some tomatoes and cooked them with the kale, garlic, and chicken stock at the end. I also baked some tofu and stirred it in at the end. The parmesan really made this dish I think. I didn't really measure the lemon or the nutmeg so I think I put in more than it called for but it was really good and filling and it used up my kale from the farmers market. The turmeric didn't make the orzo bitter at all. It was really good. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keloucks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This recipe was very tasty - even my husband liked it, which surprised me (I never thought he'd admit to liking kale)! I used lentils instead of kale, because that's what I had, and I added some shallots in with the garlic. Delicious, and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Good way to use kale if you have it and don't know what to do with it (like if you belong to a CSA). Will make this again. Also good with whatever vegetables you want to add, like eggplant, green beans, summer squash and/or tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I added diced tomatoes and extra parmesan. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States