Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I winged it and used garlic, mushrooms, onion, red pepper with kale and 1 red tomato, mixed with plain orzo. good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made this and I loved it!! I'm planning on making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
We really enjoyed this dish. I made the mistake of having my pan too hot before adding the garlic, so it had a slightly burnt taste, but for a rookie, it was a minor mistake. We had this with chicken and our kids (2&4) both enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Very disappointed with this recipe. The ingredients didn't blend at all; it just tasted like the list of ingredients. The tumeric and other ingredients didn't add any flavor. Very bland!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I thought this recipe had great flavor. The only thing I did differently was add chicken stock after the kale cooked in the olive oil and garlic to help it get nice and tender. The recipe calls for "1/2 bunch kale," which I'm sure varies, so the next time I make this I think I'll up the kale or decrease the orzo so that they are more equal in ratio. I also added tomatoes as someone else had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I really wanted to like this, but the flavors didn't mesh well at all for me and the cooking method wasn't great either - if I had let the kale cook as long as it called for, it would have been burnt to a crisp. If I ever tried to make something like this again, I would leave out the lemon juice and nutmeg and used minced garlic instead of slices. But I doubt I would make it again, I think there are many tastier kale recipes on this site (and tastier orzo recipes as well, for that matter). Glad I tried it, but it is definitely not for me, and the rest of my family disliked it even more than I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
This was delicious! Next time I would use a less orzo, maybe a cup, and more kale. I would also put lemon on the side for people to add their own. My kids thought it was too strong, even though I didn't use a whole lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I followed recipe exactly and it lacked flavor. Also, the kale burned a little by following the directions, I would decrease cook temp or cook shorter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I thought that this dish was fabulous! I read the reviews and added chicken stock while cooking, and I added some cherry tomatoes for the last 6 minutes of cooking time. I have tried this recipe with both kale and collard greens, and it is wonderful. There is a lot of flavor in this dish. I think that this may become a staple to my menus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Not quite sure why all the great reviews. We thought it was quite bland. I tasted it after following the recipe and realized it needed doctoring. I looked at other reviews and in a separate pan sautéed some cherry tomatoes and added garbanzo beans plus red pepper flakes and added that. Still didn't give it the flavor to rate it highly. Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States