Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
i loved this! i did not have any turmeric but otherwise followed the recipe. the nutmeg was fun addition and i added...diced carrots,cherry tomatoes, onion,mushrooms and red pepper and also added feta cheese when it was cool. This will be a great recipe to have this summer with all the kale i'm hoping to grow:)...planning on making this for easter next sunday too! thank you so much for the great recipe Sunaina:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loveland, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Photo by NIKKIESIMAGE
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This is a great recipe - the yellow orzo is beautiful. I thought the pasta-to-veg ratio was a little skewed to the pasta-side for my own taste. The second time I made it I used only half the orzo and added some halved grape tomatoes and toasted pine nuts. The splash of red made for a very colourful side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIKKIESIMAGE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was so tasty! I love the consistency of orzo with the kale. I realized after starting, I didn't have a lemon so I left that out. Also, I was worried the kale would burn so I added about 1/2cup vegetable stock to it. This was delicious! I will be making again, next time I will be sure to have the lemon too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Used a whole bunch of kale and steamed for 5 mins first-put garlic in large skillet w evoo-sauteed 2 minutes-added the kale, 1/4 c each white wine and chix stock-stirred in 1 can petite diced tomatoes-heat on medium low about 10 minutes then stir in cooked orzo to heat through-excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Very good! Added a little cumin... steamed kale and garlic before adding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I don't like Kale but my boyfriend makes me eat it because it is good for me. So I was happy to find this recipe that combines orzo (which I love) with kale. I followed some of the suggestions given by others. I cooked the orzo the way we always cook orzo, cooked the kale the way we always cook kale, then combined them with the turmeric, lemon juice, nutmeg and parmesan cheese as a last step. We normally cook orzo by cooking minced garlic in oil for a few seconds until fragrant, then we put the dry orzo in and toast the orzo for a few short minutes. We also add some chili flakes, which some other suggested as well. Then we add slightly more chicken broth than orzo and bring to boil then lower the heat and cook covered until the broth is absorbed and the orzo is soft. As for the kale, we cook garlic in oil until fragrant, add a half cup broth, then bring to boil. Once boiling we add the kale and heat until the kale is wilted and the liquid is absorbed. The dish was good when I followed those steps and we both enjoyed the combination. We will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
This is a winner. The texture of the orzo works so well with the kale. I left out the tumeric and the nutmeg and added red pepper flakes. I steamed the kale before adding it to the garlic and oil. I probably added a little more parm than called for, but it was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Lackey-Rudin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
This is a very good recipe. I think the lemon and parmesan give it just the right amount of flavor. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
A bit too lemon-y for us. It was ok once we put some tomato sauce on it, but to citrus-y for us to eat by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I've never reviewed a recipe before and finally had to with this one. It is amazing. I do tweak it just a bit by leaving out the turmeric, adding in some spicy italian sausage and probably twice the parmesan called for. Makes for a complete meal and is so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States