Orzo with Kale Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
I really wanted to like this recipe. The kale and garlic seemed to burn.I will try again...but next time will blanch the kale then fry it on a lower temperature and for a shorter period of time. I did end up putting some feta cheese on top before serving to take away the burnt taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I honestly didn't like this at all. I added Sriracha to cover up the flavor. I followed the directions and added cherry tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Agree with some of the other reviews. It could have used some broth or water to help cook the kale. Mine was still a little tough, and I stopped it from cooking earlier than suggested because it was burning and drying out. Enjoyed the touch of flavor from the turmeric and nutmeg. Adding a little chicken broth would have blended nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
Delicious!! I also added white beans and when served, added a couple cut/halved cherry tomatoes. Very very good!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanette60621

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Lyon, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
It seemed dry and without much taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was okay. First time I ever used turmeric in my cooking and it added an unique flavor to the orzo. Wanted a different way to eat kale instead of eating it plain in a salad. This was a fun change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mare

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walnutport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I made it and then added a touch of red pepper flakes for a little punch. Incredible. All four kids ate it with gusto, all adults devoured. Cannot say enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JYHICKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
I have been making this recipe for a few years now- I can't believe I am just now reviewing it! Thngs I have learned from trial and error: When made as written, my kale always burns. After 3 attempts and always having gross, burnt kale, I simply learned to trust my gut and experience (I should have known better) to cook the kale on a lower setting than called for, and only until it's at my desired doneness. This is usually a lot less cooking time. Also, I feel like the amount of lemon juice in this recipe is just a bit too much, so I reduce it by about half. This recipe yields A LOT. so much so, that it can be a whole meal if I use whole grain pasta. But as a side, I usually cut the recipe in half (but often keep the kale at a full bunch, or I double the kale if I'm making the full recipe). Play around with this one and find what works for you. It's not perfect as-written, but it's good enough that I keep coming back to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I have made this several times. I always add more garlic and double the BABY kale stems and all. The baby kale stems are finer and cook well. At the end, I add toasted pine nuts.. WE love it and is so easy and good for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debbsd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: San Mateo, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Kale

See how to make an easy, healthy kale side dish.

Cheesy Kale Chips

Homemade, crispy, oven-baked kale chips.

Roasted Yam and Kale Salad

This healthy salad offers a wonderful contrast of flavors and textures.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States