Orzo and Wild Rice Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
I love this gorgeous looking dish! It is so colorful and mouthwatering! and tastes spectacular!!! I did not have the wild rice on hand so I skipped it - but I will probably use it next time - as it adds to the colors! I will be making this dish again. The recipe calls for alot of vegetables diced into 3 tbsp. amounts. I woun't cut into 3 different peppers just for 1/4 of the pepper or open a can of corn just for 3 tbs. of corn - so of course I ended up with ALOT of this salad. I doubled the dressing, but I omitted the 1/4 cup canola oil (it would be too greasy) - but added in just the 1/4 cup olive oil. I did not have white balsamic vinegar, so I used regular balsamic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Thank you for this wonderful recipe. It's so pretty! I made it exactly as instructed and it's yummy. And healthy. Plus, it's a great recipe for those potluck events because of its vegetarian/ vegan ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Excellent. This reminded me of a salad I had at J. Alexander's. It was sooo tasty, not heavy and was an excellent complement to my salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yummy2

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
Tastes just like the recipe I had in a restaurant! I did however, add more corn, peppers and used dried cranberries instead of currents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
This salad was very tasty. I served it as an appetizer and everyone loved it. Only change I made was that I added dried cranberries to the mixture. Love this, will definately make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricarlie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This salad was delicious! It was exactly what I was looking for. I made the recipe for 15 and served it at a baby shower. Everyone loved it and begged for the recipe. This is definitely a family keeper. I will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
I love this recipe. It travels well for taking to a summer cookout. I have often substituted different vinegars if I don't have the white balsamic on hand. This is a different twist on pasta salad and has such a good fresh nutty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrieannro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poplar Grove, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
What a fantastic, colorful, delicious, HEALTHFUL recipe! And the possibilities for creativity using this as a base are endless. For example, I didn't have orzo pasta so used brown rice; substituted dried cranberries for the currants; added some diced tomatoes, a bit of chopped broccoli and some sliced black olives; and eliminated the canola oil entirely. My finicky dauthers-in-law had seconds and asked for the recipe! My husband asked me to make it again to take along camping. This is a 10 star recipe in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Lake, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
My version had slivered almonds which adds a nice crunch, green onion (in addition to purple) and no bell pepper, but everything else is the same. I never measured anything, just added it until it looked 'pretty'. FABULOUS and a real party pleaser (it's sooo pretty!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elenaj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
Looks very pretty. I avoid the mayonaise type sauce ... just put a little bit of olive oil and that's it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Quito, Pichincha, Ecuador

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States